Dr. Yong Rui Named Recipient of IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award

Share this on:

Yong RuiLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 22 February 2016 – A Fellow of IEEE, IAPR and SPIE, and a Distinguished Scientist of ACM, Dr. Yong Rui has been selected to receive the IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award “For pioneering contributions to multimedia analysis and retrieval.”

Dr. Rui is currently Assistant Managing Director of Microsoft Research Asia (MSRA), leading research areas in multimedia search and mining, and in big data analysis, and has significantly contributed to Microsoft intelligent cloud platform Project Oxford, Microsoft intelligent assistants Cortana and Xiaolce, Microsoft Bing, and Microsoft Office.

A leading expert in his research areas, Dr. Rui holds 60 issued US and international patents, has published 16 books and book chapters, and 200 referred journal and conference papers. Dr. Rui’s publications are among the most cited – 15,000+ citations and his h-Index is 53.

Dr. Rui is the editor-in-chief of IEEE MultiMedia, and is on organizing and program committees of numerous conferences including IEEE ICME, IEEE CVPR, ACM Multimedia, ACM ICMR, SPIE ITCom, and ICPR.

Dr. Rui received his B.S. from Southeast University, his M.S. from Tsinghua University, and his PhD from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He also holds a Microsoft Leadership Training Certificate from Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania.

The IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award is given for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15, years. Contributions must have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The other 2016 award winners are Prof. Jason Cong, Dr. Patrick Flynn, Dr. Sushil Jajodia and Prof. Pierangela Samarati. View more information about the Technical Achievement award, including a list of past recipients.

The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium. The Computer Society plans to present this award at the annual awards ceremony on 8 June 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.