Candidates Approved for 2016 IEEE Computer Society Election

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 12 July 2016 — The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors has approved the new slate of candidates for the IEEE Computer Society 2016 election.

Hironori Kasahara and Hausi A. Muller will be on the ballot for 2017 president-elect and 2018 president. The president oversees the Society’s programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Kasahara, a professor of computer science at Waseda University in Tokyo, and Director of the Advanced Multicore Research Institute, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, has served as chair of the IEEE-CS Multicore STC and CS Japan Chapter, and is a board member of the IEEE Tokyo Section.

Muller is a professor of computer science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at University of Victoria, Canada, and is a member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, serves as the 2016 VP of the Technical and Conferences Activities Board, and was recently program co-chair of the WF-IoT 205 and CASCON 2016.

Candidates for 2017 first vice president are David Lomet and Forrest Shull.  Lomet founded the Database Group at Microsoft Research Redmond, and has worked at DEC, Want Institute, and IBM, and he is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors. Shull is the assistant director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute (SEI), and has recently served as the CS Magazines Operations Committee chair, and in 2016 as treasurer.

The second vice president candidates are Gregory T. Byrd and Vladimir Getov.  Byrd is a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and member-at-large of the Publications Board. Getov is a professor of distributed and high-performance computing research group leader, and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, London, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and is Computer’s area editor for high-performance computing.

The 12 candidates for 2017-2019 terms on the Board of Governors are:

  • Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University
  • Andy Tzir Long Chen, Catronic Enterprise
  • Leila De Floriani, University of Genova, Italy
  • David S. Ebert, Purdue University
  • Jill I. Gostin, Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI)
  • William Gropp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Sumi Helal, University of Florida
  • Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University (NTU)
  • Avi Mendelson, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • San Murugesan, Western Sydney University
  • Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Jiangtao (Gene) Wen, Tsinghau University, Beijing, China

The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2017. The election area of and Computer’s August issue will provide biographical sketches and candidate position statements for each nominee.