IEEE Computer Society Honors Accomplishments of Four Renowned Technologists

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 17 April 2015 — Four prominent technologists working in areas ranging from data mining and predictive analytics to design automation and multiprocessor architectures have been named recipients of IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awards.

The awardees are:

  • Krishnendu Chakrabarty, the William H. Younger Distinguished Professor of Engineering at Duke University, “for pioneering and inspirational research on the design automation and testing of complex chips with application to microfluidic biochips;”
  • Joydeep Ghosh, University of Texas at Austin Schlumberger Centennial Chair Professor and Director of the Intelligent Data Exploration and Analysis Lab (IDEAL), “for foundational contributions to multi-learner systems;”
  • Hong Mei, professor of computer science and technology at Peking University, “for outstanding contributions to component-based software reuse and standardization;” and
  • Josep Torrellas, professor of computer science and Willett Faculty Scholar at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, “for pioneering contributions to shared-memory multiprocessor architectures and thread-level speculation.”

Chakrabarty’s research is focused on testing and design-for-testability of integrated circuits; digital microfluidics, biochips, and cyberphysical systems; and optimization of production system infrastructure. He is the recipient of the National Science Foundation Early Faculty Award, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, and the Humboldt Research Award. He is the editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on VLSI Systems and an associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Computers. He is an IEEE and ACM Fellow, and a Golden Core Member of the IEEE Computer Society.

Ghosh’s research interests are in data and web mining, predictive analytics, machine learning and its applications to a variety of complex real-world problems including healthcare. He has published more than 400 papers and 50 book chapters, co-edited over 20 books, and received 16 best paper awards. He has served as co-founder of or consultant/advisor to several companies, small and large.

Mei’s current research is on software engineering and system software. He is chief scientist on many government expert committees and a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. At Peking University, where he has worked since 1992, he is dean of the School of Electronics Engineering and Computer Science, and director of Key Laboratory of High Confidence Software Technologies of Ministry of Education (MOE).

Torrellas is director of UIUC’s Center for Programmable Extreme Scale Computing, and past director of the Illinois-Intel Parallelism Center (I2PC). An IEEE and ACM Fellow, he has served as Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Computer Architecture (TCCA) and as a Council Member of the Computing Research Association’s Computing Community Consortium (CCC). He has made technical contributions in the areas of shared-memory parallel computer architecture, low-power architectures, hardware reliability, and software dependability.

To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10-15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. View more more information about the Technical Achievement Award.