Jason Cong

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Jason Cong is a Chancellor’s Professor at the Computer Science Department, also with joint appointment from the Electrical Engineering Department, of University of California, Los Angeles, the director of Center for Domain-Specific Computing (CDSC), and the director of VLSI Architecture, Synthesis, and Technology (VAST) Laboratory. He served as the chair the UCLA Computer Science Department from 2005 to 2008. Dr. Cong’s research interests include energy-efficient computing, customized computing for big-data applications, electronic design automation, and highly scalable algorithms.  He has over 400 publications in these areas, including 10 best paper awards, two 10-Year Most Influential Paper Awards, and the 2011 ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electric Design Automation. He was elected to an IEEE Fellow in 2000 and ACM Fellow in 2008.  He is the recipient of the 2010 IEEE Circuits and System (CAS) Society Technical Achievement Award “For seminal contributions to electronic design automation, especially in FPGA synthesis, VLSI interconnect optimization, and physical design automation.”

Dr. Cong was the founder and the president of Aplus Design Technologies, Inc., until its acquisition by Magma Design Automation in 2003 (now part of Synopsys). He was a co-founder and the chief technology advisor of AutoESL Design Technologies until its acquisition by Xilinx (2006–2010). He was a co-founder and the chief scientist of Neptune Design Automation until its acquisition by Xilinx (2011–2013). Currently, he is a co-founder and the chief scientific advisor of Falcon Computing Solutions, a startup dedicated to enabling FPGA-based customized computing in data centers. Dr. Cong is also a distinguished visiting professor at Peking University (PKU) and co-director of UCLA/PKU Joint Research Institute in Science and Engineering.


2016 Technical Achievement Award Recipient
“For setting the algorithmic foundations for high-level synthesis of field programmable gate arrays.”
Learn more about the Technical Achievement Award