Hong Mei

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Hong Mei is a Professor of computer science at Peking University and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. He joined Peking University in 1992 and served as the Dean of School of Electronics Engineering and Computer Science from 2006 to 2014. Currently he is serving as the Vice-President of Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

His main research interests range over software engineering and system software, especially component-based software engineering (CBSE). He has made systematic contributions to the theory and practice of component-based software reuse, including methodology, toolkit, infrastructure and standardization. He has published more than 150 papers in referred journals and conferences, and received 11 paper awards, including best paper awards from COMPSAC 2012, ICSS 2010, ASE 2009, CBSE 2009, and APSEC 2008. He was ranked as a top-10 author internationally based on 2006-2011 publications with flagship software engineering conferences ICSE/FSE. Due to his contributions to research and practices,  he also won many prestigious awards, such as the Outstanding Contribution Award from the Beijing Olympic Games Organizing Committee in 2008, Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation Prize for Scientific and Technological Progress in 2012, and several State Awards for Science and Technology Achievements in China issued by the State Council of China, which is the highest honors in China’s academic community.

Hong Mei is a Fellow of the IEEE, a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences, and a Fellow of the World Academy of Sciences: for the advancement of science in developing countries. He has served as Program Committee of dozens of international conferences. He has previously served as General Chair of ECOOP 2012 and ICWS 2008, and Program Chair of ICSM 2008, ICSR 2008, COMPSAC 2007, QSIC 2006, and COMPSAC 2005. Currently he is serving on the editorial board of several international journals.


2015 Technical Achievement Award
“For outstanding contributions to component-based software reuse and standardization.”
Learn more about the Technical Achievement Award