Daniel P. Siewiorek

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Professor Daniel P. Siewiorek is Buhl University Professor of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, where he helped to initiate and guide the Cm* project that culminated in an operational 50-processor multiprocessor system. He has designed or been involved with the design of nine multiprocessor systems and has been a key contributor to the dependability design of over two dozen commercial computing systems.

Dr. Siewiorek leads an interdisciplinary team that has designed and constructed 20 generations of mobile computing systems. He has served as a consultant to several commercial and government organizations, while serving on six technology advisory committees. Dr. Siewiorek has also written eight textbooks in the areas of parallel processing, computer architecture, reliable computing, and design automation in addition to over 400 papers. He has served as Associate Editor of the Computer System Department of the Communications of the Association for Computing Machinery, as Chairman of the IEEE Technical Committee on Fault-Tolerant Computing and as founding Chairman of the IEEE Technical Committee on Wearable Information Systems.

Currently Director of the Human Computer Interaction Institute, he was previously Director of the Engineering Design Research Center and co-founder of its successor organization, the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems where he served as Associate Director. He is a Fellow of ACM. Professor Siewiorek received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1968, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering (minor in Computer Science) from Stanford University, in 1969 and 1972, respectively.


2018 Taylor L. Booth Education Award
“For contributions to computer architecture, wearable computing, and human computer interaction education through his pioneering textbooks, mentoring, and leadership.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Award

1988 Eckert-Mauchly Award
“For outstanding contributions in parallel computer architecture, reliability, and computer architecture education.”
Learn more about the Eckert-Mauchly Award