C.-C. (Jay) Kuo

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Dr. C.-C. (Jay) Kuo received his BS degree from the National Taiwan University in 1980 and his MS and PhD degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1985 and 1987, respectively. From October 1987 to December 1988, he was the Computational and Applied Mathematics Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics at the University of California, Los Angeles. Since January 1989, he has been with the University of Southern California (USC).

He is presently Director of the Multimedia Communication Lab and Dean’s Professor in Electrical Engineering at USC. His research interests are in the areas of multimedia compression and communication, multimedia content analysis, and computer vision. He has guided 134 students to their PhD degrees and supervised 25 postdoctoral research fellows. He is a co-author of about 240 journal papers, 880 conference papers, 30 patents, and 14 books. He has delivered about 550 invited lectures in conferences, research institutes, universities, and companies.

Dr. Kuo was editor in chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security (2012–2014) and the Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation (1997–2011). He received the Northrop Junior Faculty Research Award from the USC Viterbi School of Engineering in 1994. He was an IEEE Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecturer in 2006, a recipient of the Okawa Foundation Research Award in 2007, the recipient of the Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year Award in 2010, the holder of the Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies from 2010–2011, a recipient of the Pan Wen-Yuan Outstanding Research Award in 2011, the recipient of the 2014 Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award, and a recipient of the USC Associates Award for Excellence in Teaching. He was President of Asia-Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA) in 2013–2014. Dr. Kuo is a Fellow of AAAS, IEEE, and SPIE.



2019 Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award
“For outstanding contributions to multimedia computing technologies and their applications.”
Learn about the Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award

2016 Taylor L. Booth Award Recipient
“For excellence as an inspiring educator and for distinguished contributions to multimedia education with impact on academic and industry realms.”
Learn about the Taylor L. Booth Award