C. L. Liu

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Prof. C. L. Liu received his B.Sc. degree (1956) at the National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan, his S.M. and E.E. degrees (1960), and his Sc.D. degree (1962) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was on the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1962-72) and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1972-98), and served as President and Professor of Computer Science at the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan from February 1998 to February 2002. Professor Liu is currently a Visiting Professor in the Department of Computer Engineering and Information Technology, CityU.

He is the author and co-author of seven books and monographs, and over 180 technical papers. His research interest includes computer-aided design of VLSI circuits, real-time systems, computer-aided instruction, combinatorial optimization, and discrete mathematics.

He received the IEEE Millennium Medal, and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Golden Jubilee Medal in 2000. He also received the IEEE Computer Society, Real Time Systems Technical Committee 1999 Technical Achievement Award (inaugural winner) for his contributions in the area of real time scheduling, and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society 1998 Technical Achievement Award for his contributions in the area of computer aided design of VLSI circuits. He received an Outstanding Talents Foundation Award in 1998. He is the recipient of the 1994 IEEE Education Medal. He also received the Karl V. Karlstrom Education Award from the Association for Computing Machinery in 1990.

He is a member of Academia Sinica, a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery.


1992 Taylor L. Booth Education Award
“For outstanding contribution to computer science education through curriculum development, preparation of text books, supervision of graduate students, classroom instruction, & participation in accreditation activities.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Education Award