IEEE Computer Society Announces 2020 Fellows

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 09 December 2019 – Today IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) announces that 46 IEEE CS members and 12 IEEE members evaluated by the IEEE CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2020. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 282 members to Fellow status for 2020, compared with 295 for 2019. IEEE CS members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2020 include:

Hussein Abbass—University of New South Wales-Canberra

Hari Balakrishnan—Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Vaughn Betz—University of Toronto

Wei Chen—Microsoft Research Asia

Yingying Chen—Rutgers University-Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB)

Baoquan Chen—Peking University

Lei Chen—Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Sangyeun Cho—Samsung Electronics Company

Christopher Clifton—Purdue University

Carolina Cruz-Neira—University of Arkansas

Gautam Das—University of Texas at Arlington

Jack Davidson—University of Virginia

Shlomi Dolev—Ben-Gurion University

Touradj Ebrahimi—Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

Rudolf Eigenmann—University of Delaware

Ian Foster—Argonne National Laboratory

Edward Frank—Brilliant Lime Inc.

Richard Fujimoto—Georgia Institute of Technology

Johannes Gehrke—Microsoft

Kristen Grauman—University of Texas at Austin

Song Guo—Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Mohammad Hajiaghayi—University of Maryland College Park

Mary Hall—University of Utah

Aaron Hertzmann—Adobe Systems Inc.

Alan Hevner—University of South Florida

Markus Hofmann—Bell Labs Research

Zhenjiang Hu—National Institute of Informatics

Weijia Jia—University of Macau

William Kaiser—University of California- Los Angeles

Ramesh Karri—New York University

Sven Koenig—University of Southern California

Yun Li—University of Strathclyde

Mo Li—Nanyang Technological University

Richard Lippmann—MIT-Lincoln Laboratory

Xue Liu—McGill University

Michael Mitzenmacher—Harvard University

Mohamed Mokbel—University of Minnesota – Twin Cities

Saeid Nahavandi—Deakin University

Marc A. Najork—Google Inc.

Partha Pande—Washington State University

Panagiotis Papadimitratos—KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Punam Saha—University of Iowa

Vivek Sarkar—Georgia Institute of Technology

Evgenia Smirni—College of William and Mary

Joshua Smith—University of Washington

Alex Snoeren—University of California, San Diego

Gookwon Suh—Cornell University

Peter Varman—William Marsh Rice University

Hongyi Wu—Old Dominion University

Yang Xiang—Swinburne University of Technology

Hui Xiong—Baidu Incorporated

Laurence Tianruo Yang—St. Francis Xavier University

Jieping Ye—University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Lei Zhang—Microsoft Research Asia

Tong Zhang—Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Tong Zhang—Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)

Yan Zhang—Simula Research Laboratory

Zhongfei Zhang—SUNY Binghamton

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields.

For more information about the IEEE Fellow Program, visit

To view past Computer Society Fellow Class lists, visit:

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is the world’s home for computer science, engineering, and technology. A global leader in providing access to computer science research, analysis, and information, the IEEE Computer Society offers a comprehensive array of unmatched products, services, and opportunities for individuals at all stages of their professional career. Known as the premier organization that empowers the people who drive technology, its unparalleled resources include international conferences, peer-reviewed publications, a unique digital library, standards, and training programs. Visit for more information.