IEEE Computer Society Election Opens on 7 August 2017

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 20 July 2017 – Voting for IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) candidates for president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and Board of Governors members will begin on Monday, 7 August 2017.

Only IEEE-CS members without an email address in their member record, or those who have opted out of IEEE email communications, will receive a paper ballot package.  Those who receive paper ballots should return them by mail using the business reply envelope provided, or to IEEE Technical Activities, Attn: SGA, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331, USA.

All other members will receive a broadcast email message with voting instructions to access their web ballot package information.  Members in all regions can vote online at For replacement ballots or to request a paper ballot, call +1-732-562-3904 or email

The officers are elected to one-year terms and board members to three-year terms, each beginning 1 January 2018.  Candidate bio and position statements will be published in the August issue of Computer magazine, which is distributed to all members.

Cecilia Metra and Hausi A. Müller will be on the ballot for 2017 president-elect and 2018 president.  The president serves as the chief elected officer of the IEEE-CS, representing the entire membership.  The president, under the direction of the Board of Governors, provides direction for IEEE-CS officers and Society programs, and is responsible for the general supervision of the Society.  The president serves one year as president-elect, one year as president, and one year as past president.

Metra, a full professor at the University of Bologna, Italy, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, serves as 2017 vice president of IEEE-CS Member and Geographic Activities, and has served as IEEE-CS secretary and vice president for the Technical and Conference Activities Board.

Müller is a professor of computer science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at the University of Victoria, Canada, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and is vice president of the Technical and Conferences Activities Board for the second year.

A live Town Hall webinar with the presidential candidates is now available.

Candidates for 2018 first vice president are Gregory Byrd and Stefano Zanero. Byrd is a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, is second vice president of the Publications Board, and has been a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors. Zanero is an associate professor at Politecnico di Milano, cofounded Secure Network, has chaired the Italy IEEE-CS Chapter, and serves on the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The second vice president candidates are Dennis Frailey and Vladimir Getov. Frailey is a retired principal fellow from Raytheon Corporation and is a Senior Member of IEEE. He has served as a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, the IEEE-CS Professional Activities Board, and as vice chair of the IEEE-CS Educational Activities Board. Getov is a professor of distributed and high-performance computing; a research group leader and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, London; a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors; and a member-at-large of the IEEE-CS Publications Board and the Technical and Conference Activities Board.

The first and second vice presidents serve as franchised members of the Executive Committee, Board of Governors, and Planning Committee. The vice presidents may execute a portfolio as assigned by the president, and provide counsel and assistance to the president and other volunteer leaders. In the event that the president and president-elect cannot serve, the line of succession falls to the first vice president, then to the second vice president.

The 12 candidates for 2018–2020 terms for the IEEE-CS Board of Governors are:

  • Edward A. Addy, Northrop Grumman
  • Hal Berghel, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Andy Chen, Catronic Enterprise
  • Sven Dietrich, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
  • John Johnson, Excelsior College
  • Kinshuk, College of Information, University of North Texas
  • Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Ming C. Lin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • David Lomet, Microsoft Research Redmond
  • Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Forrest Shull, Carnegie Mellon University, Software Engineering Institute (SEI)
  • Hayato Yamana, Waseda University, Tokyo

All professional and graduate student IEEE-CS members are eligible to vote in the IEEE-CS elections. (Undergraduate student members do not hold voting rights.)
Ballots must be returned no later than 12:00 noon EDT USA/16:00 UTC on Monday, 25 September 2017. Results will be announced in Computer’s December issue and online.