Candidates Approved for 2015 IEEE Computer Society Election

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 07 July 2015 – The Board of Governors has approved the new slate of candidates for the IEEE Computer Society 2015 election.

Jean-Luc Gaudiot and Hironori Kasahara will be on the ballot for 2016 President-Elect and 2017 President. The President oversees the Society’s programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Gaudiot, a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California, Irvine, is a Fellow of IEEE, and an IEEE-CS Golden Core member. He also previously served as Vice President of Education Activities and Publications. Kasahara, a Professor of Computer Science at Waseda University in Tokyo, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, has served as chair of the IEEE-CS Japan Chapter and a board member of the IEEE Tokyo Section.

Candidates for 2016 First Vice President are David Ebert and Hausi Muller. Ebert is a Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University and Director of the Visual Analytics for Command Control and Interoperability Center, a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence; an IEEE Fellow, and serves on the IEEE-CS Board of Governor’s Executive Committee.   Muller is the Professor of Computer Science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at University of Victoria, Canada, a member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and Co-Chair of the Technical Program Committee of WF-IoT 2015, World Forum of Internet of Things.

The Second Vice President candidates are Gregory Byrd, and Nita Patel.  Byrd is Professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and member-at-large of the Publications Board.  Patel is the Systems and Software Engineering Director at L-3 Warrior Systems, serves on the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and chairs the IEEE Women in Engineering International Leadership Conference.

The 12 candidates for 2016-2018 terms on the Board of Governors are:

  • Hal Berghel, University of Nevada Las Vegas.
  • Ann DeMarle, Champlain College.
  • Sven Dietrich, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice.
  • Fred Douglis, EMC Core Technologies Division.
  • Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster, London.
  • Bruce McMillin, Missouri University of Science and Technology.
  • Cecilia Metra, University of Bologna, Italy.
  • Paul Nikolich, YAS Broadband Friends LLC.
  • Shmuel Shottan, Hitachi Data Systems.
  • Kunio Uchiyama, Hitachi, Ltd.
  • Andrew Wolfe, Wolfe Consulting, Santa Clara University, Turtle Beach.
  • Stefano Zanero, Politecnico di Milano University.

The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2016.  The election area of and Computer’s August issue will provide biographical sketches and candidate position statements for each nominee.