Mateo Valero Selected as Recipient of 2015 IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

Share this on:

Mateo ValeroLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 23 September 2015 — Mateo Valero, a professor in the Computer Architecture Department at UPC in Barcelona, has been named the recipient of the 2015 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award.

Prof. Valero, Director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center at the National Center of Supercomputing in Spain, was selected as the recipient for the award “in recognition of seminal contributions to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded, and VLIW architectures.” The Seymour Cray Computer Engineering award is one of the IEEE Computer Society’s highest awards, and is presented in recognition of innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. The award consists of a crystal memento, a certificate, and a US$10,000 honorarium.

Prof. Valero’s research is in the area of computer architecture, with special emphasis on high-performance computers, including processor organization, memory hierarchy, interconnection networks, numerical algorithms, compilers, and performance evaluation and runtime-aware architecture for multicore. He has published approximately 600 papers, has served in the organization of more than 300 international conferences, and has given more than 500 invited talks at conferences, universities, and companies. Prof. Valero has been an associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, IEEE Micro, IEEE Computer Architecture Letters, Parallel Programming Languages, and the editor of several special issues of IEEE Transactions on Computers and Computer magazine.

Prof. Valero has been honored with several prestigious awards including the IEEE-Computer Society ACM Eckert-Mauchly Award, the IEEE Computer Society Harry Goode Award, the ACM Distinguished Service Award, the Euro-Par Achievement Award, the King Jaime I in basic research, and two Spanish National Awards—the Julio Rey Pastor award, in recognition of research on informatics and/or mathematics, and the Leonardo Torres Quevedo award for engineering.

He has been named Honorary Doctor by the Spanish Universities of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Zaragoza, Complutense de Madrid, and Cantabria, and by the University of Chalmers in Sweden, the University of Belgrade in Serbia, and the University of Veracruz in Mexico. He is a Hall of the Fame member of the IST European Program (selected as one of the 25 most influential European researchers in IT from 1983–2008 in Lyon, November 2008).

In 1994, Prof. Valero became a founding member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Engineering. In 2005, he was elected Correspondent Academic of the Spanish Royal Academy of Science; in 2006, member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Doctors; in 2008, member of the Academia Europaea; and in 2012, Correspondent Academic of the Mexican Academy of Sciences. Prof. Valero is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the ACM, and an Intel Distinguished Research Fellow.

In 1998, Prof. Valero won a “Favorite Son” Award in his home town, Alfamen (Zaragoza), and in 2006, his native town named their public college after him.

Previous Seymour Cray Award recipients include Gordon Bell, Ken Batcher, John Cocke, Glen Culler, William J. Dally, Monty Denneau, Alan Gara, John L. Hennessy, Peter Kogge, Kenichi Miura, Steven L. Scott, Charles Seitz, Burton J. Smith, Marc Snir, Steven Wallach, and Tadashi Watanabe.

The 2015 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award was presented at the SC15 Conference awards plenary session in Austin, Texas on 17 November 2015 (

Learn more about the IEEE Computer Society awards.