Volunteer Resource Center 

Dennis J. Frailey

2014-2016 Board of Governors

Dennis J. Frailey joined IEEE-CS in the 1970s. Currently: Board of Governors; Distinguished Visitor; Education Activities Board; Professional Activities Board; and Chair of the Professional Development Committee, which has produced over a dozen courses for practitioners over the past three years. Previously: program chairman and conference committee member for many CS conferences; Distinguished Visitor. Other Societies: Texas Board of PEs, Chair, Industrial Advisory Committee; ACM, Distinguished Lecturer, formerly Vice President, Council Member, Chapter Chair, Regional Representative and chair of many committees; Dallas Association for SW Engineering Excellence, Chair, Program Chair; ABET, Program Evaluator for over 25 years.

PhD (computer science, Purdue, 1971). After serving for seven years as a tenured faculty member at SMU, where he helped form the computer science program, Dennis began a software development career with Texas Instruments and Raytheon. He continued as an adjunct faculty member (including six years at the University of Texas at Austin). He also developed and taught courses within TI and Raytheon as well as for external organizations. Keynote speaker at a half-dozen computer conferences; published over 150 papers. Recently, Dennis won the Nancy Mead Award for contributions to software engineering education and the ACM SIGCSE Lifetime Achievement Award in Computer Science Education.