Voting Begins on 5 August in IEEE Computer Society Election

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 July 2013 – IEEE Computer Society members will have the opportunity to select new leaders for 2014 as the annual election kicks off on 5 August. Ballots must be cast by Monday 7 October at noon EDT.

This year, IEEE Account login IDs and passwords will be needed to access the voting site. These are the same logins used to access IEEE and IEEE Computer Society online services such as membership renewals, myIEEE, and Xplore. If you do not recall your IEEE Account information, visit or reach the IEEE Contact Center at or +1 800 678 4333 (USA/Canada) or +1 732 981 0060 (worldwide).

Watch this video from IEEE Computer Society President David Alan Grier to find out why your vote is important. Visit the election site for more information.

Thomas M. Conte and  Roger U. Fujii will be on the ballot for 2014 President-elect and 2015 President. The President oversees the Society's programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Conte, a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, is IEEE-CS Vice President of Publications and was 2009-2011 Awards Committee Chair. Fujii, president of Fujii Systems and a former Northrop Grumman Vice President of the Network Communications Division, is currently IEEE Division VIII Director. He also previously served as IEEE-CS Vice President of Standards Activities.

Candidates for 2014 First Vice President are Elizabeth Burd and Paul R. Croll. Burd is Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning and Teaching at Australia's University of Newcastle and IEEE-CS Vice President of Member and Geographic Activities (MGA). Croll, a principal at PR Croll LLC  is IEEE-CS Vice President of Technical and Conference Activities.

Second Vice President candidates are James W. Moore, principal of By the Numbers Consulting LLC, and IEEE Division V Director; and Charlene (Chuck) Walrad, founder of Davenport Consulting Inc. and IEEE-CS Board of Governors member and Vice President of Standards Activities.

The 12 candidates for 2014-2016 terms on the Board of Governors are:
• David Bader, a professor in Georgia Institute of Technology's School of Computational Science and Engineering, College of Computing, and executive director for  High-Performance Computing, and Chair of the IEEE-CS Transactions Operations Committee and 2012 Awards Committee;
• Pierre Bourque, Dean of Studies of  l'École de technologie supérieure of the Université du Québec, and associate professor in the Department of Software and IT Engineering.  He is  an IEEE-CS Board of Governors member and lead editor of Version 3 of the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK);
• Cheng-Chung (William) Chu, computer science professor, R&D office dean and Director of Software Engineering and Technologies Center at Tunghai University;
• Dennis Frailey, adjunct computer science and engineering professor at Southern Methodist University, and a retired Raytheon principal fellow; and an IEEE-CS Board of Governors member and Educational Activities Board Vice Chair;
• Jill Gostin, senior research scientist at the Georgia Tech Research Institute, IEEE Atlanta Section Chair, and IEEE-CS Atlanta Chapter Chair;
• Atsuhiro Goto, professor at the Institute of Information Security's Graduate School of Information Security, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors and Audit Committee;
• Harold Javid, Director of Regional Programs at Microsoft Research and IEEE-CS Board of Governors member and past Industry Advisory Board chair;
• Paolo Montuschi, a computer engineering professor at Politecnico di Torino and IEEE-CS Board of Governors member and Magazine Operations Committee Chair;
• Jian Pei, a computer science professor at Simon Fraser University in Canada and Editor in Chief of IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering and a member of the IEEE Transactions on Emerging Topics in Computing steering committee;
• Aditya Rao, Senior Development Manager at Oracle Corp. and IEEE-CS Vice Chair of Membership Development and former MGA R10 representative • Rob Reilly, IEEE-CS Awards Committee member and MGA Vice Chair of Awards and Recognition; and
• Christina Schober, a Honeywell staff engineer and IEEE-CS Vice Treasurer and former Board of Governors member.

The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2014. The election area of and Computer's August issue will provide biographical sketches and candidate position statements for each nominee.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferencespublications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars,professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool