IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2014

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 4 December 2013 Forty-two IEEE Computer Society members and twenty IEEE members evaluated by the CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2014. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 293 members to Fellow status for 2014, compared with 298 last year. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2014 include:

Amr El Abbadi,  University of California, Santa Barbara

Mohammad Alam, University of South Alabama

Gustavo Alonso, ETH Zurich

Krste Asanovi, University of California- Berkeley

Nader Bagherzadeh, University of California-Irvine

Chandrajit Bajaj,  University of Texas at Austin

Gautam Biswas, Vanderbilt University

Alberto Broggi, University of Parma

Richard Brown, University of Utah

Kathleen Carley, Carnegie Mellon University

Danny Chen, University of Notre Dame

Kwok Cheung, Alstom Grid

Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University

James Colgate, Northwestern University

Manuel Dabreu, SanDisk Corp.

Sujit Dey, University of California, San Diego

Inderjit Dhillon, University of Texas at Austin

David Doermann, University of Maryland College Park      

Paolo Faraboschi, Hewlett-Packard

Alejandro Frangi Caregnato, University of Sheffield

Phillip Gibbons, Intel Labs

Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University

Antonio Gonzalez, Intel Labs Barcelona and Universitat Politcnica de Catalunya

Ramesh Govindan, University of Southern California

Adolfo Guzman, Instituto Politecnico Nacional (IPN)

John Heidemann, USC/Information Sciences Institute

Yiwei Hou, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

Weihua Jiang, Nagaoka University of Technology

Christopher Johnson, University of Utah

Mohan Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore

Krishna Kant, George Mason University

Yu-Kwong Kwok, University of Hong Kong

David Laidlaw, Brown University

Bing Liu, University of Illinois at Chicago

Daniel Menasce, George Mason University

Cecilia Metra, Universita di Bologna

Paul Mockapetris, Nominum

Paolo Montuschi, Politecnico di Torino

Yi Murphey, University of Michigan-Dearborn

Jian Pei, Simon Fraser University

Fatih Porikli, Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs

Padma Raghavan, Pennsylvania State University

Umakishore Ramachandran, Georgia Institute of Technology

Michael Reiter, University of North Carolina -Chapel Hill

Amir Said, Hewlett Packard Laboratories

Guillermo Sapiro, Duke University

Steven Scott, NVIDIA

Cyrus Shahabi, University of Southern California

Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung Unviersity

Sandeep Shukla, Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Raghupathy Sivakumar, Georgia Institute of Technology

Ashok Srivastava, NASA Ames Research Center

John Stasko, Georgia Institute of Technology

Hisao Taoka, University of Fukui

Keiichi Tokuda, Nagoya Institute of Technology

Wade Trappe, Rutgers University

Rene Vidal, Johns Hopkins University

Ross Whitaker, University of Utah

Changsheng Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Sudhakar Yalamanchili, Georgia Institute of Technology

Franco Zambonelli, Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia

Yongguang Zhang, Microsoft Research Beijing

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit

To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; 
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferencespublications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinarsprofessional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit


Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool