Tomorrow is the Last Day to Cast Your Vote

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 3 October, 2011 – Ballots in the IEEE Computer Society 2011 election must be turned in by Tuesday, 4 October at noon EDT.

You may cast your vote online at using the Web ballot information emailed to members in August. Paper ballots should be returned by mail to the IEEE Computer Society, c/o Survey & Ballot Systems, PO Box 46430, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9876, USA or by fax to Survey & Ballot Systems at +1-952-974-5110. For replacement ballots, call +1-202-371-0101.

David Alan Grier, first vice president of Publications and an associate professor of international science and technology policy at George Washington University; and Jon Rokne, second vice president/secretary and University of Calgary computer science professor; will run for 2012 president-elect/2013 president. The president oversees the Society’s programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Thomas M. Conte, chair of the IEEE Computer Society Awards Committee and a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology; and Jean-Luc Gaudiot, chair of the IEEE Computer Society Transactions Operating Committee, and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at University of California Irvine’s Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Science; will run for first vice president.

Paul Croll, IEEE Computer Society vice president for Technical and Conference Activities and a Fellow at CSC; will run against Andre Ivanov, an at-large T&C board member and head of the Department of Electrical and Computing Engineering at the University of British Columbia; for second vice president.

Each year, members of the IEEE Computer Society vote for the officers who will plan and direct the Society’s operations in the coming year. Computer Society officers lead efforts in such areas as publications, educational activities, conferences, and electronic products and services, and decide matters of administrative practice and policy for the Society as a whole.

The volunteers selected this year will serve under 2012 president John Walz, who was voted president-elect in last year’s election. After the election, Walz, a senior consultant for the Sutton Group, will appoint the two elected vice presidents to oversee two Computer Society boards. At his discretion, Walz will select appointees to head the other governing boards.

The 12 candidates approved for 2012 to 2014 terms on the Board of Governors are:
• Jose-Ignacio Castillo-Velazquez, tenured professor for telecommunications engineering at Universidad Autonoma de la Ciudad de Mexico, current Board of Governors member, and editor in chief of IEEE NoticIEEEro for Region 9;
• Fred Douglis, consultant engineer at EMC, former editor in chief of IEEE Internet Computing, and former chair of the Computer Society Technical Committee on the Internet;
• David S. Ebert, the Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University, current Board of Governors member, and a member of the IEEE Computer Society Publications Board;
• Hakan Erdogmus, founder of Kalemun Research, member of the IEEE Computer Society Publications Board, and former editor in chief of IEEE Software;
• Hironori Kasahara, professor of computer science at Waseda University, current Board of Governors member, and former chair of the IEEE Computer Society Japan chapter;
• Gargi Keeni, vice president of quality consulting at Tata Consulting Services, and a member of the IEEE Computer Society Industry Advisory Board;
• Fabrizio Lombardi, ITC Endowed Professor at Northeastern University. former editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Computers, and former department editor of IEEE Design & Test;
• Paolo Montuschi, a computer engineering professor and chair of the Control and Computer Engineering Department at Politecnico di Torino, member of the IEEE Computer Society Publications Board, and chair of its Digital Library Operations Committee;
• Arnold N. Pears, an associate professor and program director for the Masters Program in Embedded Systems at Uppsala University, member of the IEEE Computer Society Educational Activities Board, and chair of its STC Education Committee;
• William (Bill) Pitts, who is retired from Toshiba, a member of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Activities Board and chair of its Technical Meeting Request Committee;
• Sattupathu V. Sankaran, an IT consultant with SAP Labs and past vice president of the IEEE Computer Society Member and Geographic Activities Board; and current chair of the Member Visitor Program;
• David J. Schultz, retired Computer Sciences Corp. business process analyst , vice chair of the IEEE Computer Society Member and Geographic Activities Board’s Awards and Recognition Committee, and chair of the Systems and Software Engineering Standards Committee (S2ESC) Management Board.

The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2012. The 21 members serve rotating three-year terms in groups of seven.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE Computer Society Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results will be announced in the December issue of Computer.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool