CSAB Honors New Fellows

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 3 August, 2011 — CSAB, Inc., the lead society within ABET, Inc., for accreditation of programs in computer science, information systems, software engineering, and information technology, has named Henry R. Bauer, PhD, and Gayle J. Yaverbaum, PhD, Fellows of the organization. CSAB Fellows are honored for their outstanding contributions to the computing profession and to computing education.

Bauer is a Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at the University of Wyoming. During his 33 years at the university, he served as chairman of the Department of Computer Science and associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences. Bauer was among the first program evaluators to serve CSAB in 1985 and became a commissioner for CSAB’s Computing Science Accreditation Commission. He was a member-at-large of the CSAC Executive Committee that turned into the Executive Committee of ABET’s Computing Accreditation Commission when CSAC merged into ABET. Bauer then served as chair of CAC in 2004-2005. Currently, he is a CAC team chair for computing accreditation evaluations and a member of the ABET Global Council.

Gayle Yaverbaum is a Professor Emerita at Pennsylvania State University. She was previously director of Information Technology Programs at Penn State Harrisburg and a teacher in Information Technology for more than 25 years. Yaverbaum is a past chair of the ABET Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC). She has also served on the ABET Accreditation Council (AC), which coordinates cross-commission activities. She chaired the CAC criteria committee, has consulted with programs regarding assessment and computing accreditation, participated in training for both team chairs and program evaluators, and presented accreditation workshops at professional society meetings. Yaverbaum is currently vice president of the CSAB Board of Directors.

CSAB, Inc., a federation of the Association for Computing Machinery and the IEEE Computer Society, serves as a participating body of ABET, Inc., with three members on the ABET Board of Directors. CSAB is the lead society within ABET for accreditation of programs in computer science, information systems, software engineering, and information technology, and is a cooperating society for accreditation of computer engineering, biological engineering, and information engineering technology. In this capacity, CSAB has responsibility for the development of accreditation criteria and for the selection and training of program evaluators.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of IEEE’s 38 societies, the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology. The Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, certifications, and online courses. For more information, visit http://www.computer.org.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool