Angela Burgess Wins 2011 IEEE Herz Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 6 July, 2011 – Angela R. Burgess, executive director of the IEEE Computer Society, has been named the 2011 recipient of the IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award.

Burgess, an IEEE employee for 25 years, has led the 85,000-member IEEE Computer Society since 2007. Under her leadership, the organization has embraced a forward-looking approach and launched a dynamic suite of compelling online products and services to meet the needs of today’s computing professionals.

Burgess was recognized “for outstanding leadership in improving IEEE Computer Society cooperation and reintegration with IEEE and (the Technical Activities Board) and successfully transforming operations, improving the financial strength of the Society.”

Prior to being named executive director, Burgess served as publisher for six years. She holds a bachelor of science degree from Iowa State University and an executive master of business administration (MBA) from the Peter F. Drucker School of Management, Claremont Graduate University.

Created in 2005, the award is named in honor of longtime IEEE staff member and volunteer Eric Herz, who has served in a variety of volunteer positions from the Sections to the Board of Directors in addition to IEEE general manager and executive director and contributed significantly to the growth and reputation of the IEEE.

Any IEEE volunteer can nominate or endorse a candidate for the award. The IEEE Awards Board then forwards nominations to the IEEE Board of Directors for final approval.

Present or former full-time IEEE staff members with at least 10 years of service who have demonstrated contributions over a long period of time are eligible for the award, which consists of a certificate, honorarium, and travel expenses to attend the award presentation.

In making their decision, the IEEE Awards Board evaluates nominees’ substantial impact on IEEE’s goals and objectives and success of a number of IEEE initiatives, as well as leadership in a number of staff activities.

Past recipients include:

• Julie Eve Cozin, director of IEEE Governance and board staff secretary, who was recognized “for exemplary service to IEEE governance through development, integration and administration of new tools and procedures that improved efficiency, transparency, fairness, equity, and legal compliance” (2010);

• Ann Burgmeyer, former manager of IEEE Conference & Custom Publishing, “for pioneering work in electronic publishing and data archiving contributing to IEEE’s leadership in publishing, and for support of volunteers and staff for over 35 years” (2009);

• Fern E. Katronetsky, executive director of IEEE-HKN, the computer and electrical engineering honor society, “for extraordinary commitment to the goals and objectives of the Institute and unwavering leadership and invaluable support of volunteers and staff for over 30 years” (2008);

• William F. Van Der Vort, former executive director of the IEEE Electron Devices Society, “for leadership, management and strategic planning that have contributed to the IEEE and the Electron Devices Society” (2007); and

• Thomas W. Bartlett, former associate general manager of the IEEE’s finance and administration department, for “developing and implementing, during his 47 years of service, financial management systems that contributed uniquely to growth and achievements of IEEE” (2006).

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the IEEE’s 38, the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool