Walz Voted 2011 President-Elect

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 8 October, 2010 – John Walz, vice president of the Technical and Conference Activities Board (T&C), was elected president-elect in an election that saw slightly lower turnout but a higher proportion of Web ballots.

Walz, a Board of Governors (BoG) member and Lucent retiree, garnered 4,096 votes (50.2 percent) in a close contest with Roger Fujii, vice president of the Standards Activities Board (SAB) and vice president and general manager for Northrop Grumman Information Systems, who received 3,975 votes (48.7 percent).

Walz will assume the president’s position in January 2012. The president oversees the Society’s programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Jim Isaak, 2010 Computer Society president, thanked candidates for their continued support and members for the participation in the elections process. A total of 8,359 votes were cast for a 12.8 percent turnout, down slightly from 13.4 percent turnout in 2009. Web ballots accounted for 78.4 percent of the votes cast, compared with 73 percent in 2009.

In balloting for first vice president, David Alan Grier, vice president of the Publications Board and an associate professor at George Washington University and BoG member, received 5,010 votes (61.9 percent), and Frank Ferrante, a BoG member and adjunct faculty at College of William & Mary, 3,055 votes (37.8 percent).

Jon Rokne, a BoG member and University of Calgary computer science professor, was the top vote-getter in balloting for the second vice president, with 4,784 votes (59.5 percent). Sattupathu V. Sankaran, vice president of the Member and Geographic Activities Board (MGAB) and an IT consultant for SAP Labs, received 3,236 votes (40.2 percent).

The seven winning candidates for 2011-2013 terms on the BoG are:

• Jane Chu Prey, senior research program manager at Microsoft Research External Research, the CS representative to the Computing Research Association, and an at-large member of the Educational Activities Board (EAB); 5,454 votes (67.1 percent);

• Charlene “Chuck” Walrad, managing director at Davenport Consulting and a member of the Digital Library Operations Committee, Professional Activities Board (PAB) IT Committee, and T&C secretary; 5,096 votes (62.7 percent);
• Dennis Frailey, Raytheon Principal Fellow, vice chair of the EAB and co-chair of the EAB’s Professional Development Committee; 4,945 votes (60.8 percent);

• Andre Ivanov, a BoG member, at-large TCAB member, and a electrical and computer engineering professor at the University of British Columbia; 4,478 votes (55.1 percent);
• Atsuhiro Goto, a member of the Industry Advisory Board and vice president and general manager of Information Sharing Platform Labs at NTT; 4,371 votes (53.8 percent);
• Pierre Bourque, co-editor of the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge, PAB member, BoG member, and associate professor of software engineering at Ecole de technologie superieure; 4,275 votes (52.6 percent); and
• Dejan Milojicic, editor in chief of Computing Now and a senior research manager at HP Labs; 4,156 votes (51.1 percent).

Vote tallies for the five remaining BoG candidates are:
• Paul Joannou, a consultant with Ontario Power Generation and chair of PAB’s IT Committee; 4,000 votes (49.2 percent);
• Jose Castillo-Velazquez, a tenured professor of Electronic Engineering at Universidad Autonoma de la Ciudad de Mexico and editor in chief of IEEE NoticIEEEro for Region 9; 3,943 votes (48.5 percent).
• Paolo Montuschi, a computer engineering professor at Politecnico di Torino; 3,886 votes (47.8 percent).
• R. Sampath, director of Quanta Consulting, chairman of the IEEE Orange County chapter and Vice Chair of Membership Development for the MGAB; 3,083 votes (37.9 percent).

Election results will be announced in the December issue of Computer. Each year, Computer Society members vote for the next year’s president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the BoG.

The president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 BoG members serve three-year terms, rotating in groups of seven. The three presidents—incoming, active, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The active president is responsible for heading the annual BoG meetings and for addressing major issues affecting the organization during the year.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to http://www.computer.org.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool