Video of Award Winners Posted

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 29 July, 2010 – Video presentations of computing professionals who were honored at a recent awards dinner are now available on the IEEE Computer Society website.

Spanning decades of technology development, the 17 computer scientists and educators who were recognized represent technical specialties as diverse as biometric systems, computational social networks, education, multimedia content analysis, privacy protection, and trust management.

Among the recipients were 2009 Computer Entrepreneur Award winners Leonard Bosack and Sandy Lerner, former Stanford University colleagues who founded Cisco Systems in 1986. Video of their acceptance speech can be accessed by clicking the “Award Video” tab at

Lynn Conway, winner of the 2010 Computer Pioneer Award, helped develop scalable MOS design rules, simplified methods for silicon chip design, and a revolutionary teaching method for VLSI system design while at Xerox Palo Alto Research Center and the US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Fellow Computer Pioneer award winner Jean E. Sammet spent nearly three decades working for IBM, was one of the first programmers, and authored the computer classic book, Programming Languages. Video of their acceptance speeches can be found by clicking the “Award Video” tab at

Other video presentations include:
• Taylor L. Booth Award winners Jack Davidson, James P. Cohoon, and Michael T. Heath,;
• Willis K. King, winner of the Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service,;
• Technical Achievement Award winners Elena Ferrari, Venu Govindaraju, Tyrone Grandison, Eunice E. Santos, Ashok N. Srivastava, and Hong-Jiang Zhang,;
• Kenneth P. Birman, who won the 2009 Tsutomu Kanai Award,;
• Dharma P. Agrawal, winner of the 2008 Harry H. Goode Memorial Award;; and
• Krishna V. Palem, who was honored with the 2008 W. Wallace McDowell Award,

For more details on the awards program, visit

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool