Jiawei Han Recipient of McDowell Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 April, 2010 – Jiawei Han, a computer science professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is the 2009 winner of the prestigious W. Wallace McDowell Award.

Jiawei has been working on research into data mining, information network analysis, data warehousing, stream mining, spatiotemporal and multimedia data mining, text and Web mining, and software bug mining. With more than 400 conference and journal publications to his credit, Han has chaired or participated in more than 100 international conference program committees.

He previously served on the editorial board for Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, Journal of Computer Science and Technology, and Journal of Intelligent Information Systems. He is currently the founding editor in chief of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data (TKDD).

Jiawei has received IBM Faculty Awards, an HP Innovation Award, the Outstanding Contribution Award at the 2002 International Conference on Data Mining, a 2004 ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award, and an IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in 2005.

An IEEE and ACM Fellow, Jiawei is currently director of the Information Network Academic Research Center (INARC) supported by the Network Science-Collaborative Technology Alliance (NS-CTA) program of US Army Research Lab. He is author of the textbook “Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques” (Morgan Kaufmann).

A bronze medal and $2,000 honorarium accompany the award, which is presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of Computer Society interest.

McDowell, who spent decades working for IBM, directed development of the first commercial electronic calculator. He was later responsible for development of major advances, including IBM's card-programmed calculator, magnetic drums and tape units, magnetic core and disc storage, the company’s “700” systems, and the Naval Ordinance Research Calculator.

Rice University computer scientist Krishna Palem, also head of the Institute of Sustainable Nanoelectronics (ISNE) at Singapore’s Nanyang Technological University (NTU), was winner of the 2008 W. Wallace McDowell Award for his pioneering contributions to the growing field of embedded computing.

One of computing's most prestigious individual honors, the W. Wallace McDowell Award has a list of past winners that reads like a who's who of industry giants. They include Intel Corp. co-founder Gordon Moore (1978); microprocessor inventor Federico Faggin (1994); World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee (1996); Lotus Notes creator and Microsoft Chief Software Architect Ray Ozzie (2000); supercomputer pioneers Seymour Cray (1968), Gene Amdahl (1976) and Ken Kennedy (1995); and the architect of IBM's mainframe computer Frederick Brooks (1970).

About the Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities.

The Computer Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, and online courses. Its Certified Software Development Professional (CSDP) program for mid-career professionals and Certified Software Development Associate (CSDA) credential for recent college graduates confirm the skill and knowledge of those working in the field. The CS Digital Library (CSDL) is an excellent research tool, containing more than 250,000 articles from 1,600 conference proceedings and 26 CS periodicals going back to 1988.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool