Jim Moore Named Recipient of Karlsson Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 10 November, 2009 – James W. Moore, the IEEE Computer Society’s Vice-President for Professional Activities, has been named the recipient of the 2009 Hans Karlsson Award. 

Established in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, chairman and father of the IEEE 1301 family of standards, the Karlsson is one of the Computer Society’s highest honors. The award recognizes outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of society. 

Moore’s award, which is accompanied by a plaque and a $2,000 honorarium, will be presented at a luncheon on Tuesday, 17 November in New Brunswick, New Jersey. His citation reads: “For charting the road maps and leading the harmonization of IEEE and ISO systems and software engineering standards.”

Moore is a 40-year veteran of software engineering at IBM and, now, at the MITRE Corp. He was an executive editor of the Society’s 2004 Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK) and a member of the editorial board of the recent revision of “The Encyclopedia of Software Engineering.” 

Moore performs software and systems engineering standardization for the IEEE, serving as its liaison to ISO/IEC JTC1/SC7 and as a member of the Executive Committee of the IEEE Software and Systems Engineering Standards Committee.

He is a Charter Member of the Computer Society’s Golden Core, the recipient of the IEEE’s Third Millennium Award, and was recently named an IEEE Fellow. In 2007, he received the IEEE Standards Association’s International Award for his “considerable contribution to the IEEE Computer Society Software and Systems Engineering Standards Collection (S2ESC) and the international collection of software engineering standards supported by ISO/IEC.” 

In 23 years of service to the IEEE Computer Society and the IEEE Standards Association, Moore has pursued the application of engineering principles to modern information technology and software problems, providing key contributions to the standards for POSIX and Ada. In 1995, he began working on the craft-based techniques of software development, taking on the job of “harmonizing” the inconsistent standards of ISO/IEC and IEEE on the subject—a program which is close to completion. 

In 1997, he began working with others in developing an engineering-based codification of software development, resulting in the SWEBOK Guide. As Chair of the Professional Practices Committee, he led efforts to align the SWEBOK Guide with the model curriculum for software engineering and with the Computer Society’s two certification programs, resulting in a single statement of the content and boundaries of the software engineering discipline—a baseline which has been largely accepted by external groups developing a master’s-level curriculum in software engineering and providing a path to US software engineers’ licensure. 

Moore’s latest book on software engineering standards, “The Road Map to Software Engineering: A Standards-Based Guide,” was published in 2006 by John Wiley & Son. He holds two US patents and, dating to times when software was not regarded as patentable, two “defensive publications.” Moore holds a bachelor of science degree in mathematics from the University of North Carolina and a master of science degree in Systems and Information Science from Syracuse University. 

The Karlsson Award Selection Committee is chaired by David J. Schultz of the Computer Sciences Corp. 

Past recipients include Katherine L. Morse, for her leadership in developing modeling and simulation standards and her collaboration in establishing the Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization Standards Activity Committee as an IEEE standards sponsor. John L. (Jack) Cole received the award in 2006 for bringing together diverse interests with leadership, dedication, and vision in producing five storage system standards and forming the first information assurance standards committee. In 1994, Computer Society 2010 President-elect James D. Isaak received the first Karlsson award for his leadership and achievement in collaboration. 

Other past recipients can be found at http://www.computer.org/portal/web/awards/karlsson.
The IEEE Computer Society awards program honors outstanding technical achievements, innovation, and service to the computer profession and to the society. Award and nomination information is available at http://www.computer.org/portal/web/awards. For more information, contact Thomas M. Conte, 2009 Awards Committee Chair, at awards@computer.org. 

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology. The Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, certifications, and online courses.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool