CS Members Elevated to Fellows

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif. , 2 December, 2009 – Seventy-four IEEE Computer Society members will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2010. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 309 members to Fellow status. Computer Society members recommended for Fellow status in 2010 include:

1. Tinku Acharya
2. Raj Acharya
3. Charu Aggarwal
4. Srinivas Aluru
5. Nancy Amato
6. David Bader
7. Grady Booch
8. Athman Bouguettaya
9. Lionel Briand
10. Douglas Burger
11. Srimat Chakradhar
12. Thomas Cloonan
13. Laurent Cohen
14. Ray Dolby
15. Ahmed El-Magarmid
16. Elmootazbellah Elnozahy
17. Mário Figueiredo
18. William Gropp
19. Baining Guo
20. Richard Hartley
21. Yutaka Hata
22. Joseph Hellerstein
23. James Hendler
24. John Impagliazzo
25. Yannis Ioannidis
26. Dimitrios Ioannou
27. David Kaeli
28. Andrew Kahng
29. Matti Karjalainen
30. Nikola Kasabov
31. David Keezer
32. Fanny Klett
33. Andrew Laine
34. Seong-Whan Lee
35. Kwei-Jay Lin
36. Chih-Min (Jimmy) Lin
37. John C.S. Lui
38. Kevin Lynch
39. Margaret Martonosi
40. Peter Marwedel
41. Larry Matthies
42. Peter Maxwell
43. Mark Maybury
44. Dejan Milojicic
45. Joseph Mitola
46. Prasant Mohapatra
47. Eliot Moss
48. Robin Murphy
49. Ashwini Nanda
50. Lynne Parker
51. Larry Peterson
52. Jonathon Phillips
53. Keshav Pingali
54. Chunming Qiao
55. Long Quan
56. Anand Raghunathan
57. Al Reddy
58. Michael Scott
59. Timoleon Sellis
60. Malcolm Slaney
61. Asim Smailagic
62. Aravind Srinivasan
63. Heinrich Stuttgen
64. Jie Tian
65. Nian-Feng Tzeng
66. Nitin Vaidya
67. Amitabh Varshney
68. B.V.K. Vijaya Kumar
69. Jeffrey Voas
70. Yi-Min Wang
71. Shumpei Yamazaki
72. Qing Yang
73. Feng Zhao
74. Xinhua Zhuang

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information online visit http://www.ieee.org/fellowprogram. To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to http://www.ieee.org/web/membership/fellows/Societies/COMP.html

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:
• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology. The Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, certifications, and online courses.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool