Cray Crystal









Past recipients for Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

2014 Gordon Bell For his exceptional contributions in designing and bringing several computer systems to market that changed the world of high performance computing and of computing in general, the two most important of these being the PDP-6 and the VAX-11/780.
2013 Marc Snir For contributions to the research, development, theory, and standardization of high-performance parallel computing including the IBM RS/6000 SP and Blue Gene systems.
2012 Peter M. Kogge For innovations in advanced computer architecture and systems.
2011 Charles L. Seitz For innovations in high-performance message passing architectures and networks.
2010 Alan Gara For innovations in low power, densely packaged supercomputing systems.
2009 Kenichi Miura For leadership in developing groundbreaking vector supercomputing hardware and software.
2008 Steve Wallach For contribution to high-performance computing through design of innovative vector and parallel computing systems, notably the Convex mini-supercomputer series, a distinguished industrial career and acts of public service.
2007 Kenneth E. Batcher For fundamental theoretical and practical contributions to massively parallel computation, including parallel sorting algorithms, interconnection networks, and pioneering designs, of the STARAN and MPP computers.
2006 Tadashi Watanabe For serving as lead designer of the NEC SX series of supercomputers, and especially for the design of the Earth Simulator, which was the world?s fastest supercomputer from 2002 to 2004.
2005 Steven L. Scott For advancing supercomputer architecture through the development of the Cray T3E, the Cray X-1 and the Cray "Black Widow".
2004 William J. Dally For fundamental contributions to the design and engineering of high-performance interconnection networks, parallel computer architectures, and high-speed signaling technology.
2003 Burton J. Smith For ingenious and sustained contributions to designs and implementations at the frontier of high performance computing and especially for sustained championing of the use of multithreading to enable parallel execution and overcome latency and to achieve high performance in industrially significant products.
2002 Monty M. Denneau For ingenious and sustained contributions to designs and implementations at the frontier of high performance computing leading to widely used industrial products.
2001 John L. Hennessy For pioneering contributions to the foundation, teaching, and practice of high performance computing, especially in distributed shared memory multiprocessor architectures and in design and application of reduced instruction set architectures.
2000 Glen J. Culler For pioneering contributions to the foundation and practice of high performance computing in array and very long instruction word (VLIW) processing especially for use in interactive scientific exploration.
1999 John Cocke For unique and creative contributions to the computer industry through innovative high performance system designs.