IEEE Div. V Director-Elect Candidates Named

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 8 February, 2010 – The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors has selected James W. Moore and Jon Rokne as IEEE Division V Director-Elect nominees.
Moore is the IEEE-CS Vice-President for Professional Activities and winner of the 2009 Hans Karlsson Award. He is a 40-year veteran of software engineering at IBM and, now, at the MITRE Corp. He was an executive editor of the Computer Society's 2004 Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK) and on the editorial board for the recent revision of "The Encyclopedia of Software Engineering."
Moore, former IEEE-CS Vice-President of Standards Activities, performs software and systems engineering standardization for the IEEE, serving as its liaison to ISO/IEC JTC1/SC7 and as a member of the Executive Committee of the IEEE Software and Systems Engineering Standards Committee. The recipient of the IEEE's Third Millennium Award and an IEEE Fellow, Moore in 2007 received the IEEE Standards Association's International Award.
Rokne, a University of Calgary computer science professor, is currently serving his second term as IEEE Vice-President of Publications Services and Products. He was a member of the Publications Services and Products Board before becoming Vice-President.
He is also a member of the IEEE TAB-Periodicals Board and chaired IEEE ad-hoc committees for Publications Proposals and Publications Conduct. He led the ad-hoc committee for the Computer Society's ReadyNotes products and has participated in studies on open access, e-learning, magazine reviews, and other issues.
Rokne also chaired the IEEE-CS Transactions Operations Committee and the IEEE-CS Publications Board. He co-developed a master's program in software engineering, and was a founding member of WestMost consortium, a nonprofit organization created to provide an applied master's degree in software engineering jointly between eight Western Canadian universities.
Both Rokne and Moore are members of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.
The Computer Society bylaws provide for the Board of Governors's selection of Division Director-Elect candidates. They may select by secret ballot a slate of up to three nominees from the pool of candidates. Moore and Rokne will run in the fall election. The winner will serve as IEEE Division V Director-Elect in 2011 and as IEEE Division V Director in 2012-2013.
The office of IEEE Division Director is an IEEE office, not a Computer Society office, though the directors are elected by and represent the Computer Society membership and serve ex officio, without vote, on the society's Executive Committee and Board of Governors.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinarsprofessional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit