Share this page


Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

New Deadline: 1 July 2015

NOMINATE   |  Nomination Questions (pdf) | Award flyer

The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements.

Established in late 1997. A crystal memento, illuminated certificate, and $10,000 honorarium are awarded to recognize innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray.


Past recipients for Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

2014 Gordon Bell For his exceptional contributions in designing and bringing several computer systems to market that changed the world of high performance computing and of computing in general, the two most important of these being the PDP-6 and the VAX-11/780.
2013 Marc Snir For contributions to the research, development, theory, and standardization of high-performance parallel computing including the IBM RS/6000 SP and Blue Gene systems.
2012 Peter M. Kogge For innovations in advanced computer architecture and systems.
2011 Charles L. Seitz For innovations in high-performance message passing architectures and networks.
2010 Alan Gara For innovations in low power, densely packaged supercomputing systems.
2009 Kenichi Miura For leadership in developing groundbreaking vector supercomputing hardware and software.
2008 Steve Wallach For contribution to high-performance computing through design of innovative vector and parallel computing systems, notably the Convex mini-supercomputer series, a distinguished industrial career and acts of public service.
2007 Kenneth E. Batcher For fundamental theoretical and practical contributions to massively parallel computation, including parallel sorting algorithms, interconnection networks, and pioneering designs, of the STARAN and MPP computers.
2006 Tadashi Watanabe For serving as lead designer of the NEC SX series of supercomputers, and especially for the design of the Earth Simulator, which was the world?s fastest supercomputer from 2002 to 2004.
2005 Steven L. Scott For advancing supercomputer architecture through the development of the Cray T3E, the Cray X-1 and the Cray "Black Widow".
2004 William J. Dally For fundamental contributions to the design and engineering of high-performance interconnection networks, parallel computer architectures, and high-speed signaling technology.
2003 Burton J. Smith For ingenious and sustained contributions to designs and implementations at the frontier of high performance computing and especially for sustained championing of the use of multithreading to enable parallel execution and overcome latency and to achieve high performance in industrially significant products.
2002 Monty M. Denneau For ingenious and sustained contributions to designs and implementations at the frontier of high performance computing leading to widely used industrial products.
2001 John L. Hennessy For pioneering contributions to the foundation, teaching, and practice of high performance computing, especially in distributed shared memory multiprocessor architectures and in design and application of reduced instruction set architectures.
2000 Glen J. Culler For pioneering contributions to the foundation and practice of high performance computing in array and very long instruction word (VLIW) processing especially for use in interactive scientific exploration.
1999 John Cocke For unique and creative contributions to the computer industry through innovative high performance system designs.


2014 Seymour Cray Subcommittee Chair

Horst D. Simon

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley Lab)


>> Nomination site

Nomination Deadline for 2015 Nominations: 1 July 2015  



Marc Snir of Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to Receive 2013 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 23 September 2013 – Parallel computing expert Marc Snir, a major contributor to the Message Passing Interface, has been named the recipient of this year's IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award.

Marc SnirSnir is director of the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory and the Michael Faiman and Saburo Muroga Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), where he headed the Computer Science Department from 2001 to 2007. He is currently pursuing research in programming environments for high-performance computing.  

One of IEEE Computer Society's highest awards, the Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award is presented in recognition of innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that best exemplify Cray's creative spirit. The award consists of a crystal memento, a certificate, and a $10,000 honorarium.

Until 2001, Snir was a senior manager at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, where he led the Scalable Parallel Systems research group responsible for major contributions to the IBM SP scalable parallel system and to the IBM Blue Gene system.

He received a PhD in mathematics from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1979, worked at New York University on the NYU Ultracomputer project in 1980-1982, and was at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1982-1986, before joining IBM.

An Argonne Distinguished Fellow, AAAS Fellow, ACM Fellow, and IEEE Fellow, Snir has published numerous papers and given many presentations on computational complexity, parallel algorithms, parallel architectures, interconnection networks, parallel languages, libraries, and parallel programming environments.

Cray [] was a US electrical engineer and supercomputer architect who designed a series of computers that for decades were the fastest in the world. He founded Cray Research, which would build many of these machines. Called "the father of supercomputing," Cray has been credited with creating the supercomputer industry. 

Previous Seymour Cray Award recipients were  Ken Batcher, John Cocke, Glen Culler, William J. Dally, Monty Denneau, Alan Gara, John L. Hennessy, Peter  Kogge, Kenichi Miura, Steven L. Scott, Charles Seitz, Burton J. Smith, Steven Wallach, and Tadashi Watanabe.

 About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferencespublications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars,professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. The Computer Society is the producer of Rock Stars of Big Data, the must-attend big data event of the year, and the personalized information tool, myComputer, now available at an introductory price. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

back to the top>>


From IEEE Computer Society Press Room


Article Posted on 11 October 2012
Article Posted on 5 October 2011
Article Posted on 4 October 2010
Article Posted on 15 October 2009

Seymour Cray Crystal