First Vice-President

Nominees for 2015 First Vice President

Elizabeth Burd

Elizabeth (Liz) Burd

Position statement.  Computing is exciting because it constantly changes; but change is also  our  greatest challenge. The power of computing is that it touches everything—our work,  homes, education, leisure, and safety. Increasingly, researchers and software professionals are challenged by interdisciplinary work that requires us to understand our discipline as well as many others.

Through its conferences and  publications, the  Computer Society can support these needs and should investigate ways to increase collaboration between academia, industry, and  other computing-related fields.  The "open" community, including MOOCs and new publishing models, continue to pose many challenges, but they also offer us opportunities. We have been slow to respond, so now need to act quickly if we are not to be left behind.

I have long supported the Society's Educational outcomes (as VP of Educational Activities, 2010–2012) by facilitating the development of materials that take outcomes from our researchers and deliver, for example, courses in a form that can provide strategic advantage to our industrial colleagues. The strength of our Society is in the professional networks and communities of practice that it can create.

Currently, as VP of Member and  Geographic Activities  I have examined the  needs of communities worldwide. I was not surprised to find they are each different. We must do more to support Regional variation. If elected, I will encourage the Society to better support professional development in computing, including promoting industry-focused publication of research outcomes and enabling networking opportunities to support industry, academic, interdisciplinary and localized community building.

Biography.  Professor Elizabeth (Liz) Burd is a Pro vice-Chancellor at the University of Newcastle, Australia. Previously she was dean at Durham University in the UK. Liz teaches software engineering at undergraduate and  graduate levels.  Before her new appointment she led Durham's Technology Enhanced Learning research group, and  was  until recently director of the  UK's Centre for Excellence: Active Learning in Computing.  She has research collaborations with firms that include IBM, Microsoft, BT, BAE, and Logica. In past years, she has been awarded millions of dollars in research funds. Liz is currently the CS First Vice President and VP for Member and Geographic Activities  and  chair of IEEE's Engineering, Computing, and Technology Portals Strategy Committee. She was previously CS VP Educational Activities (2010–2012). Liz has  served on the program committees for over 20 IEEE conferences. She has published over 60 articles on software engineering and  30 on computing education. Liz has received many awards, including the IEEE CS Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award  in 2008,  and a UK National Teaching Fellowship in 2009.  A member of IEEE and the Computer Society for 20 years, Liz became a Senior Member in 2005.

<< Previous

Charlene Walrad

Charlene (Chuck) Walrad

Position statement.  I joined the Computer Society because I am proud to be counted among the ranks of computing professionals and of what our profession has given the world. To give back  to our community and the profession that has given me so much job satisfaction, intellectual enjoyment, and unforgettable camaraderie, I have used my extensive industry experience in executive management to serve on the Society's Board of Governors, Executive Committee, and four of its six managing Boards.

In recent years, the CS has focused considerable attention on steering our finances into safer waters in the face of the triple threat of the Great Recession, Open Access's impact on our publication revenues, and rising costs of supporting the larger IEEE itself. Through serious operational changes we've cut our costs by a third.

Those first two threats have had silver linings:  We have embraced Open Access as a fundamental tenet of scientific and technical minds; and we've examined every one our products and services by asking how each serves our members and our mission. As a result, we are making important changes in what we do and how we do it.

Our third challenge is to apply our successful strategies to reduce the rising costs of supporting the larger IEEE itself. It is time for us, the largest Society, to show our  leadership for the good of all.

Biography.  After her doctoral fellowship in theoretical linguistics at the University of California, San Diego, Chuck utilized advances in both computing and linguistics to produce a multilingual translation system still used by US Government agencies, multinational corporations, and the European Commission—and as the original Babelfish on the Internet (

She later managed engineering functions to produce a courseware authoring system used at organizations such  as Boeing, the first PC version of Ingres and the first truly distributed RDBMS (Ingres Star), and managed FrameMaker and PostScript engineering.

This software engineering experience led her to form Davenport Consulting, Inc., to propagate successful product creation strategies. Clients  have  included Adobe, BMC, Cisco, IBM, Ford, Microsoft, as well as many small  Silicon Valley startups, several of which were  subsequently acquired by large companies.

Chuck has also  been an invited speaker at conferences and has published articles in Computer magazine, ITPro, and the IBM Systems Journal, among others.

Chuck, IEEE Senior Member, serves this year as Treasurer. Past duties include: Professional Activities Board (Chair), PAB-IT Committee; Publications Board (Editor), Computer Standards column, Digital Library Operations Committee; T&C Board (Secretary); Standards Activities Board (VP), S2ESC (Secretary), and IEEE Std 828-2012 rewrite committee (Chair).


Next >>

Computing Now