2018 Executive Committee


hironori kashara

Hironori Kasahara

2018 IEEE Computer Society President

Hironori Kasahara received a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Waseda University, Tokyo, where he has been a professor of computer science since 1997, and a director of the Advanced Chip Multiprocessor Research Institute since 2004.   Read more >>
Cecilia Metra

Cecilia Metra

2019 IEEE Computer Society President

Cecilia Metra is a professor of electronics at the University of Bologna, Italy, where she has worked since 1991 and from which she received a Ph.D. in electronic engineering and computer science.    Read more >> 

Jean-Luc Gaudiot

Jean-Luc Gaudiot

2017 IEEE Computer Society President

Jean-Luc Gaudiot, a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine, has served the Computer Society for many years in a variety of offices, which has given him experience in many activities of the Society.  Read more >>

Gregory Byrd

Gregory T. Byrd

First Vice President, Publications
Gregory Byrd is Professor and Associate Head in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University. Read more >>
Dennis Frailey

Dennis J. Frailey

Second Vice President, Secretary
Dennis Frailey is a retired Principal Fellow from Raytheon Corporation with over 50 years of professional service in IEEE, ACM, and other computing technical societies.   Read more >>
David Lomet

David B. Lomet

2018-2020 Board of Governors
David Lomet has worked in architecture, languages, and distributed systems. His primary focus is database systems. He is an inventor of transactions while on sabbatical at University of Newcastle-on- Tyne.  Read more >>
andy chen

Andy T. Chen

Vice President, Professional & Educational Activities Board
2018-2020 Board of Governors
Andy Chen is internationally recognized for his expertise in information technology and nuclear facility network security systems. Read more >>
Jon Rosdahl

Jon Rosdahl

Vice President, Standards Activities Board
Jon Rosdahl joined the Computer Society in 1989, and has worked on 802 standards for over 20 years.  A Senior Member of the IEEE, Jon serves as the IEEE 802 Executive Committee's Executive Secretary.. Read more >>
Hausi Muller

Hausi A. Müller

Vice President, Technical and Conference Activities Board
Hausi Müller is an international expert in software engineering, software evolution, cyber-physical systems, adaptive systems, smart and context-aware systems, and program understanding. Read more >>
forrest shull

Forrest J. Shull

Vice President, Member and Geographic Activities
2018-2020 Board of Governors

Forrest Shull is Assistant Director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon University's Software Engineering Institute (SEI).   Read more >> 

John Walz

John W. Walz

2018-2019 IEEE Division V Director*
John Walz is a 42-year IEEE member and has served the Computer Society since 1980, most recently as Computer Society President and Vice President for Technical & Conference Activities.  Read more >>
Dejan Milojicic

Dejan S. Milojicic

2017-2018 IEEE Division VIII Director*
Dejan S. Milojicic is an established researcher with a full career in industry, and a long-term IEEE-CS volunteer. Read more >>
Liz Burd

Elizabeth L. Burd

2018 IEEE Division VIII Director-Elect*
Elizabeth (Liz) Burd is Professor and Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Newcastle, Australia, and previously Professor of IT and Dean at the University of Durham, UK.  Read more >>


* Ex Officio, nonvoting members of the Executive Committee