About IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing

Contact Information

Björn W. Schuller
Imperial College London
Department of Computing
180 Queens' Gate, Huxley Bldg
London SW7 2AZ, UK
+44-207-59-48357 (UK)

TAC Publication Coordinator
IEEE Computer Society
10662 Los Vaqueros Circle
Los Alamitos, CA 90720, USA
EMAIL: TOAC@computer.org
PHONE: +1.714.821.8380
FAX: +1.714.761.1784

Scope of TAC

The IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing is a cross-disciplinary and international archive journal aimed at disseminating results of research on the design of systems that can recognize, interpret, and simulate human emotions and related affective phenomena. The journal publishes original research on the principles and theories explaining why and how affective factors condition interaction between humans and technology, on how affective sensing and simulation techniques can inform our understanding of human affective processes, and on the design, implementation and evaluation of systems that carefully consider affect among the factors that influence their usability. Surveys of existing work are considered for publication when they propose a new viewpoint on the history and the perspective on this domain.

The journal covers but is not limited to the following topics:

Sensing & analysis: Algorithms and features for the recognition of affective state from face and body gestures; Analysis of text and spoken language for emotion recognition; Analysis of prosody and voice quality of affective speech; Recognition of auditory and visual affect bursts; Recognition of affective state from central (e.g. fMRI, EEG) and peripheral (e.g. GSR) physiological measures; Methods for multi-modal recognition of affective state; Recognition of group emotion; Methods of data collection with respect to psychological issues as mood induction and elicitation or technical methodology as motion capturing; Tools and methods of annotation for provision of emotional corpora.

(Cyber) psychology & behavior: Clarification of concepts related to ‘affective computing’ (e.g., emotion, mood, personality, attitude) in ways that facilitate their use in computing; Computational models of human emotion processes (e.g., decision-making models that account for the influence of emotion; predictive models of user emotional state); Studies on cross-cultural, group and cross-language differences in emotional expression; Contributions to standards and markup language for affective computing.

Behavior Generation & User Interaction: Computational models of visual, acoustic and textual emotional expression for synthetic and robotic agents; Models of verbal and nonverbal expression of various forms of affect that facilitate machine implementation; Methods to adapt interaction with technology to the affective state of users; Computational methods for influencing the emotional state of people; New methods for defining and evaluating the usability of affective systems and the role of affect in usability; Methods of emotional profiling and adaptation in mid- to long-term interaction; Application of affective computing including education, health care, entertainment, customer service, design, vehicle operation, social agents/robotics, affective ambient intelligence, customer experience measurement, multimedia retrieval, surveillance systems, biometrics, music retrieval and generation.

Steering Committee Members

IEEE Computer Society

Hatice Gunes (SC Chair), Jonathan Gratch, Peter Robinson, & Mohammad Soleymani (Secretary)

IEEE Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society

Goutam Chakraborty & Weiming Shen

IEEE Computational Intelligence Society

Bao-Liang Lu

Editorial Board


Björn W. Schuller - Imperial College London

Associate Editors

Kerstin Dautenhahn - University of Hertfordshire, UK

Julien Epps - The University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Stephen Fairclough - Liverpool John Moores University, UK

Giancarlo Fortino - University of Calabria, Italy

Roland Goecke - University of Canberra, Australia

Hatice Gunes - University of Cambridge, UK

Keikichi Hirose - The University of Tokyo, Japan

M. Ehsan Hoque - University of Rochester

Bin Hu - Lanzhou University, P.R.China

James Lester - North Carolina State University, USA

Aleix Martinez - Ohio State University

Florian Metze - Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Louis-Philippe Morency - University of Southern California, USA

Bilge Multu - University of Wisconsin-Madison

Grace Ngai - Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Maja Pantic - Imperial College London, UK

Fabio Pianesi - Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy

Alexandros Potamianos - National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Albert Ali Salah - Bogazici University, Turkey

Stefan Scherer - University of Southern California, USA

Friedhelm Schwenker - University of Ulm

Fabrizio Sebastiani - Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy

Magy Seif El-Nasr - Northeastern University, USA

Mohammad Soleymani - University of Geneva, Switzerland

Michel Valstar - University of Nottingham, UK

Yi-Hsuan Yang - Academia Sinica

Stefanos Zafeiriou - Imperial College London

Wenming Zheng - Southeast University, China