The purpose of an STC is to provide a collaborative platform and community for researchers and professionals in the area of IoE. As an emerging area, IoE requires multi-disciplinary efforts in pushing forward its technology development. Key enabling technologies of IoE are actually related to CS, such as sensing, data mining, computing, security and networking. Therefore establishing the STC in computer society will be essential for technology development, collaboration and knowledge dissemination of this emerging area.

Unfortunately so far there is no STC or TC specialized for IoE in CS. The proposed STC will focus on the above emerging research areas of IoE, which have attracted significant interests from both academia and industry. IoE brings a plenty of new opportunities and challenges. Hence, it is urgent to organize a STC on IoE for the benefit of the IEEE Computer Society.



  • Technical Scope. IoE faces many critical technical hurdles before it can be widely applied. The STC aims to significantly advance the technology development and industrialization by creating an open collaborative platform on IoE research and development. The technical scope of this STC will focus on the key enabling technological areas, including sensing, data analytics, networking and security. The STC will also focus on the development of the IoE prototype and general platforms through collaborations between various institutions and industry.
  • Geographic Scope. All the researchers, students and engineers over the world are encouraged to participate the IoE STC.






        Kan Zheng, Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications

Vice Chair

        Mischa Dohler, King College of London

        Yonghui Li,  University of Sydney, Australia


        Jesús Alonso-Zárate, CTTC, Spain

Committee Members

        Lajos Hanzo, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

        Xianbin Wang, Western University Ontario, Canada

        Jinhong Yuan, UNSW, Australia

        Petar Popovski, Aalborg university in Denmark

        Lingyang Song, Peking University, China

        Jesús Alonso-Zárate, CTTC, Spain

        Guangyi Liu, China Mobile, China