15 Distinguished Technologists to be Honored at Awards Ceremony

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 20 May, 2011 – The IEEE Computer Society will honor the accomplishments of 15 distinguished technologists who have made major contributions to their fields at an awards dinner on Wednesday 25 May at the Hyatt Regency in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
The prominent researchers and professors who will be recognized during the 6-10 p.m. dinner have made pivotal contributions in such areas as application and processor architectures, communication protocols, computer science education, data mining, grid computing, logic, virtualization, wireless networks, and more.
During their careers, award recipients have been affiliated with leading research facilities such as Argonne National Laboratory, the IBM Almaden Research Center, the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Xerox's Palo Alto Research Center (PARC), and the US Air Force Office of Scientific Research; as well as education institutions such as the Georgia Institute of Technology, Rice University, Tufts University, Taiwan's National Tsing Hua University, University of California at Berkeley, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and technology companies Apple, IBM, Nokia, Siemens, SRI International, and VMware.
The recipients include:
• Ian F. Akyildiz, Ken Byers Chair Professor in Telecommunications at Georgia Institute of Technology and director of Georgia Tech's Broadband and Wireless Networking Laboratory, winner of the 2011 W. Wallace McDowell Award, "for pioneering contributions to wireless sensor network architectures and communication protocols"; 
• Arthur W. Astrin, a communications engineer whose innovations and efforts contributed to the birth and development of the Wi-Fi industry, 2011 recipient of the Hans Karlsson Award, "for leadership and diplomatic skills applied to LAN/MAN wireless personal area network standards; mediating rivalry of competing corporate entities and personal aspirations by promoting the value of IEEE wireless standards-based approaches";
• Wen-Tsuen Chen, a Distinguished Chair in National Tsing Hua University's Department of Computer Science, recipient of the 2011 Taylor L. Booth Education Award, "for contributions to computer science education in Taiwan and worldwide, and for promoting computer networking education at all levels"; 
• Frederica Darema, director of mathematics, information, and life sciences at the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, recipient of a 2011 Technical Achievement Award "for pioneering contributions to novel techniques for complex systems modeling and simulation";
• Ron Fagin, manager of the Foundations of Computer Science group at the IBM Almaden Research Center, 2011 Technical Achievement Award winner "for pioneering contributions to the theory of rank and score aggregation";
• Ian T. Foster, the Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science at the University of Chicago and an Argonne Distinguished Fellow at Argonne National Laboratory, recipient of the 2011 Tsutomu Kanai Award "for pioneering research in grid computing, integrating geographically distributed instruments, computers, and data"; 
• Jose Garcia-Luna-Aceves, the Jack Baskin Endowed Chair of Computer Engineering at University of California, Santa Cruz, and a principal scientist at PARC, a 2011 Technical Achievement Award winner "for pioneering contributions to the theory and design of communication protocols for ad-hoc wireless networks";
• Diane B. Greene and Mendel Rosenblum, co-founders of VMware, joint recipients of the 2011 Computer Entrepreneur Award "for creating a virtualization platform that profoundly revolutionized modern computing"; 
• Jiawei Han, a computer science professor at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2009 winner of the W. Wallace McDowell Award "for significant contributions to knowledge discovery and data mining";
• Benjamin Hescott, a Tufts University senior lecturer and research assistant professor, recipient of the 2011 Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award, "for making computer science accessible to a broad spectrum of students through his energy, enthusiasm, and dedication to teaching"; 
• David J. Kuck, an influential figure in parallel computing and founder of UIUC's Center for Supercomputing Research and Development, 2011 recipient of the Computer Pioneer Award, "for pioneering parallel architectures including the Illiac IV, the Burroughs BSP, and Cedar; and, for revolutionary parallel compiler technology including Parafrase and KAP Tools";
• Moshe Y. Vardi, Karen Ostrum George Professor in Computational Engineering and director of the Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology at Rice University, recipient of the 2011 Harry H. Goode Award "for fundamental and lasting contributions to the development of logic as a unifying foundational framework and a tool for modeling computational systems";
• Mateo Valero, professor in the Computer Architecture Department at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in Barcelona, recipient of the 2009 Harry H. Goode Memorial Award "in recognition of seminal contributions to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded, and VLIW processor architectures"; and
• Liang-Jie Zhang, editor in chief of IEEE Transactions in Services Computing and senior vice president, chief scientist, and director of research at Kingdee International Software Group, recipient of a 2011 Technical Achievement Award "for pioneering contributions to application design techniques in services computing".
The Computer Society awards program honors technical achievements, education, innovation, and service to the computer profession and to the Society. The awards program is reviewed continuously to investigate new awards, revise existing ones, and seek possible sponsors.
All members of the profession are invited to help ensure the awards program maintains the highest possible quality by nominating individuals who they consider most eligible to receive international recognition of an appropriate IEEE Computer Society award. For more information, visit http://www.computer.org/awards.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at www.computer.org.