IEEE-CS Honors Technical Achievement Award Winners

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 19 April, 2012 – The IEEE Computer Society is honoring five prominent technologists for their contributions with 2012 Technical Achievement Awards.
This year's award winners include:
• Michael Franz, "for pioneering contributions to just-in-time compilation and optimization and significantly advancing Web application technology";
• Ling Liu, "for pioneering contributions to novel Internet data management and decentralized trust management";
• Klara Nahrstedt, "for pioneering contributions to end-to-end quality of service and resource management in wired and wireless networks";
• Mei-Ling Shyu, "for pioneering contributions to multimedia data mining, management, and retrieval"; and
• Xindong Wu, "for pioneering contributions to data mining and applications."
Franz is a professor of computer science in the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Irvine (UCI) and the director of its Secure Systems and Languages Laboratory. Additionally, he holds a courtesy appointment as a professor of electrical engineering and computer science in UCI's Henry Samueli School of Engineering. Franz was one of the pioneers of just-in-time compilation and platform-independent code. The "Trace Tree" compilation technique that originated in his lab became the basis of the "TraceMonkey" JavaScript engine in the Firefox browser, used by hundreds of millions of people every day.
Ling Liu is a computer science professor at Georgia Institute of Technology and a co-editor-in-chief of the five-volume "Encyclopedia of Database Systems." Currently, Ling serves on the editorial board of eight international journals, including Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing (JPDC), IEEE Transactions on Service Computing (TSC), ACM Transactions on Web (TWEB), and Distributed and Parallel Databases (Springer).
Klara Nahrstedt, a computer science professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and an IEEE Fellow, is the recipient of a US National Science Foundation Career Award, the Junior Xerox Award, and the Humboldt Research Award, among others. She is the co-author of the widely used textbooks "Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications" and "Multimedia Systems."
Mei-Ling Shyu is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Miami and serves as an associate editor or editorial board member for several journals. She is the vice chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Multimedia Computing (TCMC), and a steering committee member of IEEE International Conference on Multimedia & Expo.
Xindong Wu is a professor of computer science at the University of Vermont, a Yangtze River Scholar in the School of Computer Science and Information Engineering at the Hefei University of Technology, and an IEEE Fellow. He has published extensively in various journals, including IEEE Transactions in Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKKDE) and IEEE Transactions in Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (TPAMI). He is a former TKDE editor in chief and founding chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Intelligent Informatics (TCII).
To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10-15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. The 2012 TAA Subcommittee Chair is Bhavani Thuraisingham from University at Texas at Dallas. The next nomination deadline is 15 October, 2012. For more information, visit

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at