New Members Elected to IEEE-CS Industry Advisory Board

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 14 June, 2011 – Harold Javid, director of North American and Global Program External Research at Microsoft Research, has replaced Stephen D. Huffman, vice president and CTO at MITRE Corp., as chairman of the IEEE Computer Society Industry Advisory Board.
The IAB, which is composed of representatives from private industry, has also added two new members. At the board's most recent meeting, Avijit Biswas, senior vice president of Siemens IT in India, was elected to an open seat; and Cheryl McIntyre, director of software engineering at Lockheed Martin, was elected to replace outgoing board member Jeffrey Wilcox, vice president of engineering at Lockheed Martin.
The IAB will hold its next meeting at MITRE Corp. in Virginia in October and spend time discussing the board's future direction and role.
Two programs so far have had their genesis with the IAB: the Corporate Affiliate Program, a new membership model that extends Computer Society education and training resources to employees; and the training webinar program, which connects companies' employees with useful training information from Computer Society experts.
The IAB meeting was held in conjunction with the Computer Society's Board of Governors meeting and annual awards dinner in Albuquerque, New Mexico in late May.
The IAB has also been actively involved with helping develop a business model for implementing continuous updates for the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK). Other efforts that could benefit from IAB input include:
• The Professional Activities Board's initiative to better define the information technology industry and its needs;
• The Educational Activities Board's roadmap for development of education products; and
• The IEEE Computer Society strategic plan.
A candidate is currently being sought for the IAB's one vacant seat. Board members noted that a European or a representative from the healthcare and financial sectors could provide perspectives not already represented on the board. Other board members are:
• Nick Bowen, vice president of technology at IBM;
• Deborah Dunie, executive vice president and CTO of CACI;
• Steven J. Hillenius, executive vice president of SRC and executive director of the Semiconductor Research Corp.;
• Stephen D. Huffman, vice president and CTO, MITRE (the IAB's first chair);
• Gargi Keeni, VP, Tata Consultancy Services;
• Ike Nassi, executive vice president and chief scientist, SAP;
• Tirumale (TK) Ramesh, Boeing Technical Fellow, Boeing;
• Shmuel Shottan, senior vice president and CTO of BlueArc;
• Neil Siegel, sector vice president, Technology and Advanced Systems, Northrop Grumman Information Systems;
• Brian Stevens, CTO, Red Hat Software; and
• Henry Tirri, senior vice president and head of Nokia Research Center.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at