60 IEEE-CS Members Elevated to Fellow

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 10 December, 2012 –Sixty IEEE Computer Society members and associates will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2013. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.
The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 297 members to Fellow status for 2013, compared with 329 last year. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2013 include:
  • Robert Aitken, ARM
  • Sanjoy Baruah, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Jacek Blazewicz, Poznan University of Technology
  • Enrico Bocchieri, AT&T Research
  • Ramon Caceres, AT&T Labs
  • Jan Camenisch, IBM Zurich Research Lab
  • Raja Chatila, ISIR
  • Mihai Datcu, DLR
  • Matthew Dwyer, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Aaron Fenster, Western University
  • Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria
  • David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Alan George, University of Florida
  • Dimitris Gizopoulos, University of Athens
  • Fred Glover, Opt Tek Systems
  • Jayant Haritsa, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • James Hoe, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Michael Hsiao, Virginia Tech
  • Xiaohua Jia, City University of Hong Kong
  • Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University
  • Jeffrey Kephart, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Peter Key, Microsoft Research Ltd, UK
  • Masaru Kitsuregawa, University of Tokyo
  • Joseph Konstan, University of Minnesota
  • Carl Landwehr, George Washington University
  • Sung-Ju Lee, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
  • James Libous, Lockheed Martin
  • Mikko Lipasti, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Li Li, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Eugene Litvinov, ISO New England
  • Yi Ma, Microsoft Research Asia
  • Madhav Marathe, Virginia Tech
  • Igor Markov, University of Michigan
  • Subhasish Mitra, Stanford University
  • Matt Mutka, Michigan State University
  • Brad Myers, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Steven Reinhardt, AMD Research
  • Michel Renovell, LIRMM-CNRS
  • Jon Rokne, University of Calgary
  • Sudeep Sarkar, University of South Florida   
  • André Seznec, INRIA  
  • Weiming Shen, National Research Council Canada 
  • Prashant Shenoy, University of Massachusetts
  • Claudio Silva, NYU Poly Institute of Technology
  • Pradeep Sinha, Pune University
  • Kevin Skadron, University of Virginia            
  • Stefano Soatto, University of California, Los Angeles           
  • Mary Lou Soffa, University of Virginia
  • Sang Son, University of Virginia
  • Marc Stubbe, Tractebel Engineering
  • Craig Stunkel, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Valerie Taylor, Texas A&M University
  • Jerzy Tyszer, Poznan University of Technology
  • Ramasamy Uthurusamy, Oakland University
  • Matthew Turk, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Ingrid Verbauwhede, University of Leuven
  • Wen-Hann Wang, Intel Corporation
  • Jie Yang, National Science Foundation
  • Ramin Zabih, Cornell University
  • Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University
The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit http://www.ieee.org/fellowprogram.
To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to http://www.ieee.org/web/membership/fellows/Societies/COMP.html.
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:
• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; 
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at www.computer.org.