IEEE-CS Board Approves New Executive Committee Members

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 13 November 2012 – The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors has approved the Executive Committee members who will serve under 2013 President David Alan Grier, who begins his term in January.
Thomas M. Conte, a joint professor of computer science, and electrical and computer engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, will remain First Vice President for Publications. Charlene ("Chuck") J. Walrad, owner of Davenport Consulting, will remain Vice President for Standard Activities; and Paul R. Croll, a Fellow in CSC's Defense Group, will remain Vice President for Technical & Conference Activities.
Former Vice President for Educational Activities Elizabeth L. Burd, dean at Durham University in the UK, will become Second Vice President for Member and Geographic Activities; while Jean-Luc Gaudiot, professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine, will become the new Vice President for Educational Activities. Donald F. Shafer, Technical Fellow of the Athens Group, will serve as Vice President for Professional Activities. Paul Joannou, president and principal consultant with Axia Engineering, will serve as Treasurer. David S. Ebert, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University, was elected as the 2013 Secretary.
Shafer and 2012 IEEE Computer Society President John Walz were also approved as 2013 IEEE Division VIII Delegate-Director-Elect candidates. Shafer and Walz will participate in next year's election, with the winning individual serving as the 2014 Div VIII Director-Elect and 2015-2016 Division VIII Director. 
Robert Dupuis, a professor at the University of Quebec, was named to serve another year as ombudsman; Conte was selected as the 2013 member of the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board; and Ann DeMarle, director of the Emergent Media Center at Champlain College, as a member of the 2013 Nominations Committee. In addition, Ignacio Castillo, a tenured professor at Autonomous University of Mexico City; Atsuhiro Goto, professor of the Graduate School of Information Security at the Institute of Information Security; Paolo Montuschi, a professor of computer engineering at Politecnico di Torino; and Arnold Pears, a senior researcher at Uppsala University, were named to the 2013 Audit Committee. 
The BoG also elected former IEEE Computer Society Industry Advisory Board Chair Harold Javid to serve the final year of Dejan Milojicic's BoG term. Milojicic, former editor in chief of Computing Now, has been named 2013 President-elect. Javid is a director of the Americas/Australia/New Zealand regional program at Microsoft.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at