Prof. Jason Cong Selected to Receive IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 22 February 2016 – Dr. Jason Cong, a Chancellor’s Professor at the Computer Science Department, with joint appointment from Electrical Engineering Department of University of California, Los Angeles, has been selected to receive the 2016 Technical Achievement Award “For setting the algorithmic foundations for high-level synthesis of field programmable gate arrays”.
Dr. Cong’s research interests include energy-efficient computing, customized computing for big-data applications, electronic design automation, and highly scalable algorithms. He has over 400 publications in these areas, including 10 best paper awards, two 10-Year Most Influential Paper Awards, and the 2011 ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electric Design Automation. 
Dr. Cong, elected to an IEEE Fellow in 2000 and ACM Fellow in 2008, is the recipient of the 2010 IEEE Circuits and System (CAS) Society Technical Achievement Award “For seminal contributions to electronic design automation, especially in FPGA synthesis, VLSI interconnect optimization, and physical design automation.” Dr. Cong is the only award recipient to receive the Technical Achievement Award from both the IEEE Computer Society and the IEEE CAS.
Currently, Dr. Cong is a co-founder and the chief scientific advisor of Falcon Computing Solutions, a startup dedicated to enabling FPGA-based customized computing in data centers. In addition, Cong is director of Center for domain-Specific Computing (CDSC), and the director of VLSI Architecture, 
Dr. Cong is also a distinguished visiting professor at Peking University (PKU) and co-director of UCLA/PKU Joint Research Institute in Science and Engineering.
The IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award is given for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15, years. Contributions must have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. 
The other 2016 award winners are Dr. Patrick Flynn, Dr. Sushil Jajodia Dr. Yong Rui, and Prof. Pierangela Samarati. Further information about the award, including a list of past recipients, may be found at:
The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium.  The Computer Society plans to present this award at the annual awards ceremony on 8 June 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing—from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, cybersecurity to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, the Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions—publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through the establishment professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at