IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2017

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 01 December 2016 – Sixty IEEE Computer Society members and 11 IEEE members evaluated by the CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2017. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 299 members to Fellow status for 2017, compared with 297 for 2016. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2017 include:

N. Asokan— Aalto University and University of Helsinki
Todd Austin—University of Michigan
Alper Buyuktosunoglu—IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Franck Cappello—Argonne National Laboratory
Michael Carey—University of California, Irvine
Luca Carloni—Columbia University
Edward Chang—Stanford Info Lab-Stanford University
Kiyoung Choi—Seoul National University
Sorin Cotofana—Delft University of Technology
Robert Cunningham—MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Tamal Dey—Ohio State University
Danny Dolev—Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Dov Dori—Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Frederick Douglis—Dell EMC Corporation
Falko Dressler—University of Paderborn
Ram Duvvuru Sriram—National Institute of Standards & Technology
Sandhya Dwarkadas—University of Rochester
Pablo Estevez—University of Chile
Edward Fox—Virginia Tech
Minos Garofalakis—Technical University of Crete
Soonhoi Ha—Seoul National University
Saman Halgamuge—University of Melbourne
Hossam Hassanein—Queens University
Payam Heydari—University of California, Irvine
Hugues Hoppe—Microsoft Research
Zhenyu Huang—Pacific Northwest National Lab
Deog-Kyoon Jeong—Seoul National University
Hironori Kasahara—Waseda University
Alvin Lebeck—Duke University
Kuen-Jon Lee—National Cheng-Kung University
Hsien-Hsin Lee—Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Ltd.
Hang Li—Huawei Technologies
Phone Lin—National Taiwan University
Tieyan Liu—Microsoft Research Asia
Gabriel Loh—Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
David Lowther—McGill University Montreal
David Luebke—NVIDIA Corporation
Joseph Lyles—Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Pitu Mirchandani—Arizona State University
Jean Michel Muller—Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon
Nuria Oliver—Telefonica I&D
Rafail Ostrovsky—University of California, Los Angeles
Haesun Park—Georgia Institute of Technology
Jung-Min Park—Virginia Tech
Li-Shiuan Peh—Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lili Qiu—University of Texas
Ravi Ramamoorthi—University of California, San Diego
William Regli—Drexel University
Reza Rejaie—University of Oregon
Gregg Rothermel—University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Bernt Schiele—Max Planek Institute of Informatics
Michael Schulte—Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Stanley Sclaroff—Boston University
Behzad Shahraray—AT & T Labs-Research
Hamid Sharif—University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Cristina Silvano—Politecnico di Milano
Alan Smeaton—Dublin City University
Carol Smidts—Ohio State University
Anuj Srivastava—Florida State University
Sabine Susstrunk—Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Nuno Vasconcelos—University of California, San Diego
Jeffrey Vetter—Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Wenping Wang—University of Hong Kong
Jianyong Wang—Tsinghua University
Chonggang Wang—InterDigital
David Whalley—Florida State University
Richard Wolski—University of California, Santa Barbara
Ying Wu—Northwestern University
Alexandre Yakovlev—Newcastle University
Mohammed Zaki—Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Ce Zhu—University of Electronic Science & Technology

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields.

For more information about the IEEE Fellow Program, visit
To view past Computer Society Fellow Class lists, go to:
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

•    have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
•    hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
•    have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society, the computing industry's unmatched source for technology information and career development, offers a comprehensive array of industry-recognized products, services and professional opportunities. Known as the community for technology leaders, IEEE Computer Society's vast resources include membership, publications, a renowned digital library, training programs, conferences, and top-trending technology events. Visit for more information on all products and services.