IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2016

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 02 December 2015 – Fifty-three IEEE Computer Society members and 11 IEEE members evaluated by the CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2016. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 297 members to Fellow status for 2016, compared with 300 for 2015. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2016 include:

David Abramson—University of Queensland
Kiyoharu Aizawa—University of Tokyo
Alexandre Alves da Silva—GE Global Research
Lorenzo Alvisi—The University of Texas at Austin
David Atienza—EPFL - École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Ronald Azuma—Intel Research Laboratories
Michael Branicky—University of Kansas
David Brooks—Harvard University
Umit Catalyurek—Ohio State University
Tony Chan—Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
Shigang Chen—University of Florida
Shu-Ching Chen—Florida International University
Degang Chen—Iowa State University
Xilin Chen—Institute of Computing Technology
Armando Colombo—Schneider Electric Automation GmbH
Tracy Camp—Colorado School of Mines
Lorrie Cranor—Carnegie Mellon University
Timothy Davis—Texas A&M University
Leila De Floriani—University of Genova
Robert Deng—Singapore Management University
Yixin Diao—IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Schahram Dustdar—Vienna University of Technology
Dinei Florencio—Microsoft Research
Michael Franz—University of California- Irvine
Fernando Gomide—University of Campinas
Gerhard Hancke—University of Pretoria
Edwin Hancock—University of York
Scott Hauck—University of Washington
Larry Heck—Google
Gernot Heiser—The University of NSW
Xiaobo Hu—University of Notre Dame
Yu Charlie Hu—Purdue University
Mahmut Kandemir—Penn State University
Nam Sung Kim—University of Wisconsin-Madison
Mark Laubach—Broadcom Corporation
Hui Lei—IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Charles Leiserson—MIT-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Xuemin Lin—UNSW - University of New South Wales
Stefano Lonardi—University of California, Riverside
Chenyang Lu—Washington University in St. Louis
Shih-Lien Lu—Intel Corporation
Joao Marques Silva—University College Dublin
Nenad Medvidovic—University of Southern California
Dimitri Metaxas—Rutgers University
Frank Mueller—North Carolina State University
Alexandros Potamianos—National Technical University of Athens
Calton Pu—Georgia Institute of Technology
Wendi Rabiner Heinzelman—University of Rochester
Sreeranga Rajan—Fujitsu Laboratories of America
Kui Ren—State University of New York at Buffalo
Chris Rowen—Cadence Design Systems
Jagannathan Sarangapani—University of Missouri
Karsten Schwans—Georgia Institute of Technology
Sudipta Sengupta—Microsoft Research
Weisong Shi—Wayne State University
Matteo Sonza Reorda—Politecnico di Torino
Diane Thiede Rover—Iowa State University
K. Venugopal—University Visvesvaraya College of Eng.- Bangalore
Sarma Bala Vrudhula—Arizona State University
Cliff Wang—US Army Research Office  
Jia Wang—AT&T Labs Research  
Chengzhong Xu—Wayne State University  
Daniel Zeng—University of Arizona
Xi Zhang—Texas A&M University

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to:
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing—from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, cybersecurity to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, the Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions—publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through the establishment professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at