IEEE Computer Society Announces 2015 Fellows

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 18 December 2014 – Sixty IEEE Computer Society members and 11 IEEE members evaluated by the CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2015. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 300 members to Fellow status for 2015, compared with 293 last year. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2015 include:

  • Daniel Andrews – Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
  • David August – Princeton University
  • Ewert Bengtsson – Uppsala University
  • Ricardo Bianchini – Microsoft Corporation 
  • Kenneth Birman – Cornell University
  • Aaron Bobick – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Azzedine Boukerche – University of Ottawa 
  • Rajkumar Buyya – University of Melbourne
  • Christian Cachin – IBM Research Laboratory
  • Jiannong Cao – Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Joseph Cavallaro – Rice University 
  • Elizabeth Chang – Curtin University
  • Xiuzhen Cheng – George Washington University
  • Henrik Christensen – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Sajal Das – Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Dipankar Dasgupta – University of Memphis
  • Joe Decuir – CSR Technology, Inc.
  • Murthy Devarakonda – IBM Watson Research Center
  • Peter Dinda – Northwestern University
  • Rolf Drechsler – University of Bremen
  • Stephanie Forrest – University of New Mexico
  • Henry Fuchs – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Pascale Fung – Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Patrick Girard – LIRMM (Laboratory of Informatics, Robotics and Microelectronics of Montpellier)
  • Manimaran Govindarasu – Iowa State University
  • S. Gunasekaran – AFRL/RIEA
  • Dan Gusfield – University of California at Davis
  • Dan Halperin – Tel Aviv University
  • Constance Heitmeyer – Naval Research Laboratory
  • Abdelsalam (Sumi) Helal – University of Florida
  • Joerg Henkel – Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Jianying Hu – IBM
  • Ravishankar Iyer – Intel Corporation
  • Qiang Ji – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Hong Jiang – University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Anupam Joshi – University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Christoforos Kozyrakis – Stanford University
  • David Kriegman – University of California, San Diego
  • Deepa Kundur – University of Toronto
  • Edmund Lam – University of Hong Kong
  • Steven Levitan – University of Pittsburgh 
  • Keqin Li – State University of New York
  • Baochun Li – University of Toronto
  • Ling Liu – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Cheng-Lin Liu – Institute of Automation of Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Yunhao Liu – Tsinghua University
  • Wenjing Lou – Purdue University
  • Scott Mahlke – University of Michigan
  • Diana Marculescu – Carnegie Mellon University
  • Patrick McDaniel – Pennsylvania State University
  • Hong Mei – Peking University
  • Ethan Miller – University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Stefan Mozar – Dynexsys Pty Ltd.
  • Alexandru Nicolau – University of California, Irvine
  • Radha Poovendran – University of Washington
  • Rasheek Rifaat – Jacobs Canada, Inc. 
  • Eric Rotenberg – North Carolina State University
  • Ponnuswamy Sadayappan – Ohio State University
  • Michael Shebanow – Samsung
  • Wonyong Sung – Seoul National University 
  • James Truchard – National Instruments 
  • Mahesh Viswanathan – IBM Corporation
  • Geoffrey Webb – Monash University
  • David Weiss – Iowa State University
  • Yuan Xie – Pennsylvania State University
  • Bulent Yener – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 
  • Wang Yi – Uppsala University
  • Moti Yung – Google, Inc.
  • Yin Zhang – University of Texas at Austin
  • Kun Zhou – Zhejiang University
  • Yuanyuan Zhou – University of California, San Diego
The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit www.ieee.org/membership_services/membership/fellows/. To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to: http://www.ieee.org/membership_services/membership/fellows/fellowsDirectory.html#.
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:
• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; 
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at www.computer.org.