2015 IEEE Computer Society Election Results

Posted 9 October 2015  

Jean-Luc Gaudiot selected 2016 President-Elect (2017 President)

Jean-Luc GaudiotJean-Luc Gaudiot has been an active member of the IEEE Computer Society since he joined as a student member in 1973. Over the years, he has demonstrated his leadership in roles such as program committee chair or (co-) general chair of ISCAHPCA, and PACT; editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Computers; founding editor of IEEE Computer Architecture Letters; and vice president of Educational Activities (2013) and Publications (2014–2015). These have given him a unique perspective, both broad and in depth, of the Computer Society, its structure, its needs and potential, and its international role.

He is professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine, and was department chair for 6 years. His research interests include programmability and design of multiprocessors. He has published over 250 peer reviewed papers. His research has been sponsored by NSF, DOE, DARPA, and several companies.

He is a Fellow of IEEE (1999) and AAAS (2007), and an IEEE Computer Society Golden Core member (2003). He earned his PhD in computer science from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1982.




David Ebert selected 2016 1st Vice President

David Ebert

David S. Ebert has been actively engaged in Computer Society (CS) Board of Governors, conferences, technical committee, and publication activities for over 10 years. He has been treasurer, second vice president, and secretary of the Board of Governor’s Executive Committee, associate editor in chief and editor in chief for IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics, and an Computer Graphics associate editor for IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications. Ebert has served as a CS Publications Board member, CS Integrity Chair, Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee Executive Committee member, and an ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee member. He has been conference co-chair, program co-chair, and papers co-chair of nine Society-cosponsored conferences and led the IEEE Visualization and Analytics Science and Technology conference advisory board. 

Ebert is the Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University and director of the Visual Analytics for Command Control and Interoperability Center, a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence. He has a PhD in computer science from The Ohio State University and performs research in visualization, visual analytics, and computer graphics. Ebert is an IEEE Fellow and received the Golden Core Award and Meritorious Service Award for his Computer Society activities.

Nita Patel selected 2016 2nd Vice President

Nita Patel

Nita PatelPE, serves on the Computer Society Board of Governors, chairing the engagement ad-hoc, Women in Computing Summit, and CS MGA outreach committee. She is on the Eta Kappa Nu Board of Governors. Patel chairs the IEEE Women in Engineering International Leadership Conference, which she launched in 2014 during her tenure as WIE chair.  She served as 2010–12 IEEE-USA VP of Communications & Public Awareness and launched the digital IEEE-USA in Action newsletter. 

Nita received the 2014 Larry K. Wilson Transnational Award for distinguished contributions to IEEE global activities through the creation, development, and implementation of the inaugural IEEE WIE International Leadership Conference; development of a comprehensive, multiyear strategic business plan; and expanding the global reach of the IEEE WIE mission to inspire, engage, and advance women in the field.
Outside IEEE, she is active with Toastmasters and the US Chess Federation. Nita received an MS in Computer Engineering (1998), BS in Electrical Engineering (1995), and BS in Mathematics (1995) from Southern Methodist University.  
Nita is the Systems and Software Engineering Director at L-3 Warrior Systems, where she was named the 2014 L-3 Engineer of the Year for her technical leadership.

Elected Board of Governors Members

Ann DeMarle

Ann DeMarle

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Ann DeMarle is Associate Dean, directing Champlain College’s Emergent Media Center, MakerLab, and Emergent Media MFA and MS programs, which has a presence in Shanghai. She founded the college’s degrees in multimedia and game development (ranked 15th nationally).  Read more


Fred Douglis

Fred Douglis

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Fred Douglis has a PhD in computer science from UC Berkeley. He has worked in industrial applied research throughout his career, including Matsushita, AT&T, IBM, and currently EMC. He was a visiting professor at VU Amsterdam and Princeton University. Read more


Vladimir Getov

Vladimir Getov

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Vladimir Getov is a professor of distributed and high-performance computing, research group leader, and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, UK. His career spans both industrial research and academia.  Read more


Bruce McMillin

Bruce McMillin

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Bruce McMillin received a PhD in computer science in 1988 from Michigan State University and a BS degree in electrical and computer engineering from Michigan Technological University.  He is a Senior Member and a Golden Core awardee of the Computer Society.  Read more


Cecilia Metra

Cecilia Metra

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Cecilia Metra is full professor at the University of Bologna, Italy, where she has been working since 1991, and where she received a PhD in electronic engineering and computer science.  Read more


Kunio Uchiyama

Kunio Uchiyama

2016-2018 Board of Governors

Kunio Uchiyama, chief scientist of Hitachi, Ltd., received his BS, MS, and PhD degrees from the Tokyo Institute of Technology. He has worked for the Central Research Laboratory of Hitachi since 1978 on design automation, mainframe computers, microprocessors, multicore processors, and their applications.  Read more


Stefano Zanero

Stefano Zanero

2016-2018 Board of Governors

I received a PhD in computer engineering from Politecnico di Milano, where I am currently an associate professor. My research focuses on systems security, and I have published over 50 peer-reviewed papers. I am a regularly invited speaker at international events, including the popular Black Hat Briefings. Read more