2017 IEEE Computer Society Election Results

Posted 2 October 2017

Cecilia Metra selected 2018 President-Elect (2019 President)

Cecilia Metra Cecilia Metra is a full professor at the University of Bologna, Italy, where she has worked since 1991, and from which she received a PhD in electronic engineering and computer science. In 2002, she was visiting faculty consultant for Intel Corporation.

She has been a member of the IEEE Computer Society (CS) Board of Governors since 2013, and of the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation Board of Governors since 2015. She is 2017 vice president of CS Member and Geographic Activities, and served as CS Secretary in 2015 and Vice President for Technical and Conference Activities in 2014.

She was editor in chief of Computing Now and associate editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Computers. She is on the IEEE The Institute Advisory Board as well as on editorial boards of several journals, including IEEE Design&TestJournal of Electronic Testing, and Design Automation for Embedded Systems.

She served aT.s first vice chair of the Test Technology Technical Council (TTTC), chair of the TTTC Educational Program, and chair of the TTTC Communication Group. She contributed to numerous IEEE international conferences/ symposia/workshops as general/program chair/cochair (14 times), vice-general/program chair/cochair (6 times), topic/track chair (34 times), and technical program committee member (91 times).

She has published extensively (185+ papers) on design for test and reliability of integrated circuits and systems. Her research has received public and private funding (from companies such as Intel Corporation, STMicroelectronics, etc.) at national and international levels. Her involvement with industry was also recognized by a joint patent with Philips Research.

She has received two Meritorious Service Awards and five Certificates of Appreciation from the IEEE CS. She is an IEEE Fellow, IEEE CS Golden Core Member, and a member of the IEEE Honor Society IEEE-HKN.  





Gregory T. Byrd selected 2018 1st Vice President

Greg Byrd

Gregory T. Byrd is professor and associate head in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE Computer Society and its 2017 Second Vice President and vice president of the Publications Board. Previously, Byrd was a member of the CS Board of Governors (2015–2017), and a member-at-large of the Publications Board (2012–2016). In 2016, he served as Computer Society Secretary. He is a member of the Computer magazine editorial board, as computer architectures area editor (2013–14, 2017) and as creator and editor of the Student Design Showcase column (2015–16).

Byrd’s research is primarily in the area of parallel computer architecture. He received a PhD in electrical engineering from Stanford University. Prior to joining NC State, he worked at Celotek, MCNC, NC Supercomputing Center, and Digital Equipment Corporation. He has been general chair and program chair of the IEEE International Conference on Computer Design, and has served on program committees of several IEEE conferences. He received an Outstanding Teacher Award at NC State (2011) and the IEEE CS Golden Core Award (2016).



Dennis J. Frailey selected 2018 2nd Vice President

Dennis Frailey

Dennis Frailey is a retired Principal Fellow from Raytheon Corporation with over 50 years of professional service in IEEE, ACM, and other computing technical societies. He is an IEEE Senior Member and ACM Fellow and has served in many capacities for both societies, notably, as member of Computer Society’s Board of Governors (2011–2016) and as ACM vice president (1986–1988). As a speaker for ACM’s DSP and Computer Society’s DVP, Frailey has spoken to over 200 chapters on such topics as careers in computing, cycle-time reduction, and techniques used by software engineering professionals. He has also served throughout his career as an adjunct professor at several universities, where his recent courses focus on software quality, software metrics, and software project management. Earlier in his career he published and taught courses in operating systems, compiler design, and computer architecture. 

Frailey has spent much of his professional life bridging gaps between industry and academia. He is active in groups defining curricula and bodies of knowledge in computing fields and helped with the formation of several computer science and software engineering programs. He was a member of the Computer Society’s Professional Activities Board and a vice chair on the Educational Activities Board before the two merged in 2013. He was an ABET accreditation program evaluator for over 25 years, and has won several awards for contributions to computer science and software engineering education. He served on five industry advisory boards for university computer science, computer engineering, and software engineering programs. Frailey has also been active throughout his career in support of conference activities including various committees, keynote addresses, papers, and as program chair for over a dozen conferences. He received an MS and PhD in computer science from Purdue University. 

Elected Board of Governors Members

Andy Chen


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Andy Chen is internationally recognized for his expertise in information technology and nuclear facility network security systems. He is a distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Systems Council.    Read more


John Johnson


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Johnson received a PhD in nuclear physics from The University of Texas at Austin and has 22 years of direct experience as an information security practitioner in the public and private sectors..  Read more


sy-yen kuo


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Sy-Yen Kuo received his PhD  in computer science from the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign. He holds the Pegatron Chair Professor in National Taiwan University (NTU)’s Department of Electrical Engineering.   Read more


David Lomet


2018-2020 Board of Governors

David Lomet founded (1995) and managed the Database Group at Microsoft Research Redmond.   His career spans industrial research, academia, and product development.   Read more


Dimitrios Serpanos


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Dimitrios Serpanos is professor of ECE, University of Patras, and director of the Industrial Systems Institute/ATHENA-RC, Patras, Greece.  Read more


Forrest Shull


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Forrest Shull is assistant director at Carnegie Mellon University. His role is to lead work with US government agencies to advance the use of empirically grounded information in software engineering and cybersecurity. Read more


Hayato Yamana


2018-2020 Board of Governors

Hayato Yamana received a Dr. Eng. degree at Waseda University in 1993. He began his career at the Electrotechnical Laboratory of the former Ministry of International Trade and Industry. Read more