Past IEEE Computer Society Presidents

The IEEE Computer Society traces its orgins to the 1946 formation of the Committee on Large-Scale Computing of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE).

Five years later, the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) formed its Professional Group on Electronic Computers. The principal volunteer officers of both these groups were designated chairs. The AIEE and the IRE merged in 1963 to become the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

The respective committee and group of the predecessor organizations combined to form the modern IEEE Computer Society. The society's principal volunteer office has been designated as president since 1970.

Chairs of the IRE Professional Group
on Electronic Computers

1951-53   Morton M. Astrahan

1953-54   John H. Howard

1954-55   Harry Larson

1955-56   Jean H. Felker

1956-57   Jerre D. Noe

1957-58   Werner Buchholz

1958-59   Willis H. Ware

1959-60   Richard O. Endres

1960-62   Arnold A. Cohen

1962-64   Walter L. Anderson


Chairs of the AIEE Committee
on Large-Scale Computing Devices

1946-49   Charles Concordia

1949-51   John Grist Brainerd

1951-53   Walter H. MacWilliams

1953-55   Frank J. Maginniss

1955-57   Edwin L. Harder

1957-59   Morris Rubinoff

1959-61   Ruben A. Imm

1961-63   Claude A. Kagan

1963-64   Gerhard L. Hollander


Chairs & Presidents of the IEEE Computer Society

1964-65  Keith Uncapher

1965-66  Richard I. Tanaka

1966-67  Samuel Levine

1968-69  Charles L. Hobbs

1970-71  Edward J. McCluskey

1972-73  Albert S. Hoagland

1974-75  Stephen S. Yau

1976        Dick B. Simmons

1977-78  Merlin G. Smith

1979-80  Tse-Yun Feng

1981        Richard E. Merwin

1982-83  Oscar N. Garcia

1984-85  Martha Sloan

1986-87  Roy L. Russo

1988   Edward A. Parrish

1989   Kenneth A. Anderson

1990   Helen M. Wood

1991   Duncan H. Lawrie

1992   Bruce D. Shriver

1993  James H. Aylor

1994  Laurel V. Kaleda

1995  Ronald G. Hoelzeman

1996  Mario R. Barbacci

1997  Barry W. Johnson

1998  Doris L. Carver

1999  Leonard L. Tripp

2000  Guylaine M. Pollock

2001  Benjamin W. Wah

2002  Willis K. King

2003  Stephen Diamond

2004  Carl K. Chang

Computing Now