Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF)


isef logo

The IEEE Computer Society continued its longstanding participation in Intel's ISEF, the world's largest precollege science fair. Young scientists showcased their innovative projects, networked with fellow students and professionals, and competed for more than $3 million in awards and scholarships.

isef winners



The Intel International Science and Engineering Fair announced winners at the Special Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, California - May 11-16, 2014. 

2014 Intel ISEF Special Awards

First Individual Award $1000

Venkatesh S. Sivaraman, 16
A Novel Algorithm for Fast Global Sequence Alignment and Database Search

Second Individual Award $500

Puneeth Meruva, 16
Homestead High School, Fort Wayne, Indiana
An Integrated Software Platform for Intelligent, Autonomous Control of Hyper-Redundant Modular Robotic Systems using Simultaneous Localization and Mapping

Third Individual Award $350

Dhaivat Nitin Pandya, 16
Appleton North High School, Appleton, Wisconsin
Panthera: Caching and Cache-based Scheduling in Distributed Computing Systems

First Team Award $500 for each team member

Chih Wei Tan, 17
Hou Teng Cheong, 17
Pui Ching Middle School, Macau, China, Macao Special Administrative Region
A New Secure Distributed Storage System for Cloud: Mathematical Framework, Design and Applications

Second Team Award $400 for each team member

Karthik Balaji Chakravarthy, 17
Rohit Vallabh Chakravarthy, 15
Beavercreek High School, Beavercreek, Ohio
A Novel Hybrid Non-invasive Clinical-Signal Processing Technique as Biomarker of Atrial Fibrillation


Winners will receive a framed certificate, and a one-year free subscription to the CS magazine of their choice. A winners group photo will also be published in an issue of "Computer" magazine.

Computer Society ISEF Judges


Lowell G. Johnson, Chief Judge

Dr. Yinong Chen
Mr. Bill Chown
Dr. Keith Vanderveen
Ms. Deanne Philps
Mr. Jeff Demain

Computing Now