Harry Hayman Award for Distinguished Staff Achievement

Nominate |  Call for Harry Hayman Nominations (pdf) 

Harry Hayman

Hayman Award Information

Nomination Deadline: 31 December 2018



The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements.

A plaque and $5,000 honorarium are presented for long and distinguished service of an exemplary nature in the performance of duties over and above those called for as a regular employee of the Society.

This is the highest service award given to an active member of the Computer Society staff.

Learn more about Harry Hayman.


Hayman Past Recipients

Harry Hayman for Distinguished Staff Achievement Past Recipients

2017 Hilda Carman For many years of outstanding service in support of the Computer Society’s publications, volunteers, and members, and for fostering a culture of solutions and cooperation.
2016 Robin Baldwin
For her steady and creative leadership of CS magazines and transactions during a time of profound changes and growth in the portfolio, and for leading successful, innovative efforts to reduce costs, enhance quality, and ensure that authors and volunteers are fully supported.


Evan M. Butterfield

For fostering a climate of innovation in publishing, product development, conference services models, and partnerships with IEEE.


Georgann Carter

For many years of exemplary service in support of Computer Society print and digital products.


Lynne Harris

For long and dedicated tenure with the society, and maintaining a standard of excellence in service to volunteers and staff.


Angela R. Burgess

For outstanding services as Publisher of the IEEE Computer Society.


Stacy A. Saul

For enormous contributions to the success of the International Design Competition and the Certified Software Development Professional Certification examination projects.


Anne Marie Kelly


Violet S. Doan

For continuous and long term leadership and innovation in financial and administrative management, and consistent excellence in support of the society's goals.


Anne Marie Kelly

For sustained leadership and creativity in staff management of volunteer services, especially the conferences program, and consistent excellence in support of the society's objectives.


Marilyn Potes

For many years of inspirational leadership and sustained exemplary service as founding managing editor, production consultant, and editor for the IEEE Computer Society.


T. Michael Elliott

For years of distinguished leadership, excellence, and innovative service to members, volunteers and staff.


H. True Seaborn

In recognition of his many years of excellent, dedicated, and innovative leadership and service to the Computer Society.


Hayman Press Releases

Computer Society's Seaborn presented first Hayman award as 46 are honored 

Hayman Award

Computer Society's Seaborn presented first Hayman award as 46 are honored H. True Seaborn, editor and publisher of the Computer Society and its six magazines, was presented the first Harry Hayman Award for Distinguished Staff Service October 27, during FJCC in Dallas. In addition, the society presented awards to 45 other men and women for the valuable contributions they've made toward its progress.

The highest honor a Computer Society staff member can receive, the Hayman award was established in 1985 to honor the retirement of its distinguished first executive secretary whose career exemplified the highest ideals of society staff service.

The plaque honoring Seaborn recognizes "his many years of excellent, dedicated, and innovative leadership and service" and bears the signatures of the society's president, Roy Russo, and its executive director, T. Michael Elliott. They're key members of the Executive Committee, the unit that voted to honor Seaborn with the first Hayman award.

Seaborn has been a leader in the society's emergence from an organization with 16,000 members in 1973, when he became editor and publisher, to one with more than 90,000 this year. During his tenure, Computer magazine has gained an international reputation for excellence and has experienced a five-fold expansion in circulation, and five new society magazines have been launched. They are IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications, IEEE Micro, IEEE Design & Test, IEEE Software, and IEEE Expert.

Seaborn has also been a major contributor to many other successful society programs, including numerous professional conferences and initiation of the Computer Society Press.

Following a number of years of volunteer service to the then-Computer Group of the IEEE, Harry Hayman was asked to join the staff as executive secretary on a full-time basis in 1972. He applied the kind of management techniques he learned during his professional career, which included a term as one of the leading computer experts on the US Apollo project, and thus guided the CS through 12 years of growth.

The IEEE developed into the world's largest professional organization during his CS tenure, and the Computer Society evolved as the IEEE's largest unit.