About Awards

70 Awards Ceremony


Awards Pressentations

The IEEE Computer Society sponsors the Awards Program to recognize both technical achievement and service to the Society.  In the technical area, recognition may be given for pioneering and current contributions to the field of computer science and engineering.  Service awards are given to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the Society. In addition, the Society encourages nominations of its members for appropriate IEEE awards.

The IEEE Computer Society recognized nine individuals at its 2016 Annual Awards Ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia.  Learn more about the recipients in the 2016 Awards Brochure >

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee selects and recommends recipients for awards administered by the Society, and nominates and recommends candidates for IEEE administered awards. 

The Awards Committee is responsible for preserving the integrity of the evaluation and selection process, assuring that the process is both open and rigorous, and that the process contributes to the prestige of the Society and the award recipients.

The Awards Committee chair is appointed by the Society president.  Committee members, including the immediate past chair, chairs of all the awards subcommittees and one to three at-large members, are appointed by the Awards Committee chair with the concurrence of the society President. 

Open Nominations | Visit the Online Nomination System | Contact Us

2016 Awards Committee

  • Awards Chair:  Rich Belgard
  • Past Chair: David A. Bader

Technical Awards

  • B. Ramakrishna Rau Award:  Bill Mangione-Smith
  • Charles Babbage Award:  Viktor Prasanna
  • Computer Entrepreneur:   Steven J. Wallach
  • Computer Pioneer:   Steven J. Wallach
  • Eckert-Mauchly:  Antonio Gonzalez, ACM Rep.
  • Hans Karlsson:   Francois Coallier
  • Harlan Mills Award: Lionel Briand
  • Harry Goode Memorial:   Scott Mahlke
  • IEEE CS / SEI Watts S. Humphrey Software Process Achievement:  Michael Konrad
  • Ken Kennedy Representative: Vivek Sarkar, CS Rep.
  • Seymour Cray Computer Engineering:   Marc Snir
  • Sidney Fernbach:   Marc Snir
  • Technical Achievement:   Paolo Montuschi
  • W. Wallace McDowell:   Scott Mahlke

Educational Awards

  • CS&E Undergraduate Teaching:   Robert Reilly
  • Taylor L. Booth:   Robert Reilly

Service Awards & Certificates

  • Richard E. Merwin:  Christina M. Schober
  • Service Awards:  Rich Belgard


  • Anne Marie Kelly*
  • Millie Lovos*
  • Itaru Mimura
  • Ronny Ronen



Last Updated:  August 2016

Computing Now