Aim of the Cybersecurity STC

The Cybersecurity STC aims to become the voice of the cybersecurity field, allowing the Computer Society to speak authoritatively on the subject and become a one-stop source of reliable information for stakeholders such as government, educators, industry at large and the general public.


Leadership Team

Chair: Stefano Zanero, Assistant Professor, Politecnico di Milano 

Vice Chair: Sergey Bratus, Research Associate Professor, Darthmouth College

Operations committee (OpCom) 

Francesca Bosco, Project Officer, United Nation Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute
Lorenzo Cavallaro, Senior Lecturer, Royal Holloway University of London

Gerardo Di Giacomo, Security Program Manager, Microsoft
Vincenzo Iozzo, Entrepreneur-in-residence, Rakoku Holdings
Federico Maggi, Assistant Professor, Politecnico di Milano
Diogo Monica, Security Engineer, Square Inc. (liaison with IEEE Public Visibility Committee)

Steering Committee

Mary-Ann Davidson, CSO, Oracle Corporation
Atsuhiro Goto, Full Professor, IISEC Japan
Engin Kirda, Associate Professor, Northeastern University
Christopher Kruegel, Chief Scientist, LastLine
Susan K. Land, Technical Lead, Missile Defense Agency (liaison with IEEE Internet Governance ad hoc committee)
Evangelos Markatos, Full Professor, FORTH-ICS

Katie Moussouris, Chief Policy Officer, HackerOne
Giovanni Vigna, Full Professor, UCSB

Call for Volunteers

We are currently seeking with high priority:

  • Editors for this website
  • Editors for a community newsletter
  • Organizational help for our events (see the specific event pages for volunteering)

Join Our Effort

Contact the STC chair at to inquire about volunteering opportunities!