About IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering

Contact Information

Matthew B. Dwyer
Dept of Computer Science and Engineering
256 Avery Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-0115

Associate Editor-in-Chief
Jane Cleland-Huang
University of Notre Dame

Associate Editor-in-Chief
John Grundy
Deakin University

Information Director
Mei Nagappan

TSE Publication Coordinator
IEEE Computer Society
10662 Los Vaqueros Circle
Los Alamitos, CA 90720, USA
EMAIL: TSE@computer.org
PHONE: +1.714.821.8380
FAX: +1.714.761.1784

Scope of TSE

IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering is interested in well-defined theoretical results and empirical studies that have potential impact on the construction, analysis, or management of software. The scope of this Transactions ranges from the mechanisms through the development of principles to the application of those principles to specific environments.

Specific topic areas include: a) development and maintenance methods and models, e.g., techniques and principles for the specification, design, and implementation of software systems, including notations and process models; b) assessment methods, e.g., software tests and validation, reliability models, test and diagnosis procedures, software redundancy and design for error control, and the measurements and evaluation of various aspects of the process and product; c) software project management, e.g., productivity factors, cost models, schedule and organizational issues, standards; d) tools and environments, e.g., specific tools, integrated tool environments including the associated architectures, databases, and parallel and distributed processing issues; e) system issues, e.g., hardware-software trade-off; and f) state-of-the-art surveys that provide a synthesis and comprehensive review of the historical development of one particular area of interest.

Editorial Board


Matthew B. Dwyer - University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Associate Editor-in-Chief

Jane Cleland-Huang - University of Notre Dame

John Grundy - Deakin University

Associate Editors

Sven Apel - University of Passau, Germany

Joanne M. Atlee - University of Waterloo

Luciano Baresi - Politecnico di Milano

Andrew Begel - Microsoft Research

Eric Bodden - Paderborn University & Fraunhofer IEM

Victor Braberman - Universidad de Buenos Aires

Tevfik Bultan - University of California, Santa Barbara

Margaret Burnett - Oregon State University

Jeffrey Carver - University of Alabama

Myra Cohen - University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Daniela Damian - University of Victoria

Robert DeLine - Microsoft

Massimiliano Di Penta - University of Sannio

Alexander Egyed - Johannes Kepler University Linz

Brian Fitzgerald - University of Limerick

Gordon Fraser - University of Sheffield, UK

Alessandro Garcia - Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro

Ahmed E. Hassan - Queen's University

Reid Holmes - University of British Columbia

Zhenjiang Hu - National Institute of Informatics

Valerie Issarny - INRIA

Natalia Juristo - Universidad Politecnica de Madrid

Miryung Kim - University of California, Los Angeles

Sunghun Kim - The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Andrew Ko - University of Washington

Robyn Lutz - Iowa State University

Sam Malek - University of California, Irvine

Andrian Marcus - University of Texas at Dallas

Phil McMinn - University of Sheffield

Emilia Mendes - Blekinge Institute of Technology

Mira Mezini - Technische Universitaet Darmstadt

Raffaela Mirandola - Politecnico di Milano

Audris Mockus - Avaya Labs

Ana Moreira - Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Gail Murphy - University of British Columbia

Corina Pasareanu - NASA Ames Research Center

Mauro Pezze - University of Lugano and University of Milano Bicocca

Gian Pietro Picco - University of Trento

Abhik Roychoudhury - National University of Singapore

Carolyn Seaman - University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)

Koushik Sen - University of California, Berkeley

Helen Sharp - The Open University

Forrest Shull - Carnegie Mellon University

Stephen Siegel - University of Delaware

Éric Tanter - Universidad de Chile

Paolo Tonella - Fondazione Bruno Kessler

Michael Whalen - University of Minnesota

Tao Xie - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Andreas Zeller - Saarland University

Charles Zhang - The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Xiangyu Zhang - Purdue University

Thomas Zimmerman - Microsoft Research

Andrea Zisman - The Open University, UK