IEEE Computer Society Newsfeed

Subscribe RSS

« Back

Free Software Developers Recognized

The Free Software Foundation announced the winners of its annual Free Software Awards. The Award for the Advancement of Free Software, granted to an individual contributor to the progress and development of free software, was given to Dr. Fernando Perez, the creator of IPython, an interactive computing architecture. OpenMRS, software for medical record keeping designed for organizations in developing nations, was recognized with The Award for Projects of Social Benefit. This award is given by the organization for a humanitarian project. The free software is being used in nations including Rwanda, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Haiti, India, and the Philippines.  The award ceremony coincided with the LibrePlanet 2013 conference, held at Harvard University. (SlashDot)(The Free Software Foundation)

Trackback URL: