Celebrate Women in Computing

The Computer Society is honored to recognize the following women for their contributions to the computing profession.

Nominations are being accepted for Technical Awards until 15 October 2015. Print and share our call for nominations>>>

Recipients List by Award Category

Computer Entrepreneur Award

Diane B. Greene "For creating a virtualization platform that profoundly revolutionized modern computing."

Sandy Lerner "For founding Cisco Systems and pioneering and advancing the commercialization of routing technology and the profound changes this technology enabled in the computer industry."

Computer Pioneer Award


Jean Sammet

For pioneering work and lifetime achievement as one of the first developers and researchers in programming languages.

Lynn Conway

For contributions to superscalar architecture, including multiple-issue dynamic instruction scheduling, and for the innovation and widespread teaching of simplified VLSI design methods.


Betty Jean Jennings Bartik

For pioneering work as one of the first programmers, including co-leading the first teams of ENIAC programmers, and pioneering work on BINAC and UNIVAC I.


Frances (Fran) E. Allen

For pioneering work establishing the theory and practice of compiler optimization.


Francis Elizabeth (Betty) Snyder-Holberton   

For the development of the first sort-merge generator for the Univac which inspired the first ideas about compilation.


Mina S. Rees   

For the ONR Computer R&D development beginning in 1946.

Sidney Fernbach Award


Marsha Berger

For her many contributions, and enormous, influence to computational fluid dynamics including adaptive mesh refinement methods, Cartesian grid methods, and practical mathematical algorithms for solving significantly heretofore intractable problems.


Harry H. Goode Memorial Award


Grace Murray Hopper

For her pioneering work and leadership in the development of computer software, and for her impact and influence on the computing profession and her fellow colleagues, and for her pioneering work and leadership in the development of important concepts for mathematical and business compilers, and for her contributions to the development and acceptance of English-language, problem-oriented programming, and for her outstanding work and continued efforts in the education and training of men and women for careers in computer science and data processing.


Taylor L. Booth Education Award


Nell B. Dale

For inspiring hundreds of people to careers in computer science through both her excellent teaching and her award-winning textbooks.


Tsutomu Kanai Award


Elisa Bertino

For pioneering and innovative research contributions to secure distributed systems.


Hans Karlsson Standards Award


Annette D. Reilly

For harmonization and development of novel approaches to the system and software engineering standards for vocabulary, life-cycle information, and user documentation.

Katherine L. Morse

For leadership in development of modeling and simulation standards and exemplary collaboration in establishing the Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization (SISO) Standards Activity Committee (SAC) as an IEEE standards sponsor.

Ken Kennedy Award


Mary Lou Soffa     

For contributions to compiler technology and software engineering, exemplary service to the profession, and lifelong dedication to mentoring and improving diversity in computing.


Susan L. Graham     

For foundational compilation algorithms and programming tools; research and discipline leadership; and exceptional mentoring.


Francine Berman

For her influential leadership in the design, development and deployment of national-scale cyberinfrastructure, her-inspiring work as a teacher and mentor, and her exem plary service to the high performance community.

Wallace McDowell Award


Grace Murray Hopper

For her combination of technical skill, leadership, teaching capability, and single-minded drive for the invention, adoption, and standardization of high-level programming languages.

Harlan D. Mills Award


Elaine Weyuker

For leading research on rigorous software testing including industrial evaluations of the comparative effectiveness and costs of such testing methods.

Technical Achievement Award


Eva Tardos     

For contributions to algorithmic game theory, particularly her seminal work on selfish routing.


Ling Liu     

For pioneering contributions to novel internet data management and decentralized trust management.


Klara Nahrstedt     

For pioneering contributions to end-to-end quality of service and resource management in wired and wireless networks.


Mei-Ling Shyu

For pioneering contributions to multimedia data mining, management and retrieval.


Frederica Darema

For pioneering contributions to novel techniques for complex systems modeling and simulation.


Eunice Santos

For pioneering contributions to Computational Social Network Systems.


Elena Ferrari

For pioneering contributions to Secure Data Management.


Shashi Phoha   

For pioneering developments of distributed automation for hierarchical control of interacting machines into dynamic reasoning systems.


Elisa Bertino

For outstanding contributions to database systems and database security and advanced data management systems.

Computer Science & Eng. Undergrad Teaching Award


Elizabeth Gerber

For her paradigm shifting extracurricular design initiative that fosters interdisciplinary collaboration and learning.


Judy Robertson For outstanding contributions to the undergraduate education through teaching and the innovative use of pioneering technologies in teaching.


Elizabeth L. Burd

For outstanding contributions to the undergraduate education through teaching and the organization of programs to promote excellence in undergraduate teaching.


Sally A. Fincher   

For sustained contributions to undergraduate computer science through rigorous examination of teaching effectiveness and fostering and promoting research in computer science education.

Distinguished Service in a Pre-College Environment


Jennifer Fernquist     


Angelina Lim     


Martha Davies   

For her efforts in founding QuipuNet, a grassroots, 'virtual' organization for Peruvians around the world, to channel education, information and aid to Latin countries, with emphasis on Peru.


Sally Goldberg   

Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Service Award


Doris. L. Carver

For dedicated and sustained leadership to the computing profession and to the IEEE Computer Society.


Helen M. Wood   

For outstanding and sustained contributions and leadership to the society and the institute, particularly in the area of standards, publications, and information services.


Martha Sloan

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the computer profession.