The Community for Technology Leaders

Editorial: State of the Journal Address


Pages: pp. 1-1

The year 2008 saw a return to bimonthly issues for TSE. This has been very successful in that issues are more substantial and easier and less costly to produce. I hope that both authors and readers agree that this has been a worthwhile change.

Some Statistics for 2008

There has been a considerable growth in submissions to TSE, with 411 papers submitted during the calendar year 2008 compared with 356 in 2007 and 302 in 2006.

I would like to thank all authors for their contributions in the last year, and to encourage all in the software engineering field to continue to submit their best work to TSE. To be accepted for TSE, all papers must make a significant software engineering contribution, be scientifically sound and clear, be critically evaluated against related work, and be clearly expressed. The acceptance rate is currently around 13 percent.

Thanks to the support of our Associate Editors and the hard work of our reviewers, we have managed to keep our reviewing process rigorous and efficient. The average time from submission to first decision for 2008 was less than

3 months, from submission to final decision was less than 6 months, from acceptance to electronic publication (Rapid Posting) was 39 days, and from submission to paper publication was around 14 months.

The journal continues to maintain its excellent reputation as a well-cited archival journal. The most recent figures for journal impact from Thomson are 2.105 for 2007, with previous results of 1.503 in 2004, 1.967 in 2005 and 2.132 in 2006. Impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the “average article” in a journal has been cited in a particular year.

Welcome to those Associate Editors who joined the editorial board last year: Elisabetta di Nitto, Carlo Ghezzi, Paul Strooper, and Tetsuo Tamai. My sincere thanks to those editors who retired from the board last year: Paul Clements, Anthony Finkelstein, Karama Kanoun, Bev Littlewood, Neil Maiden, Harold Ossher, Barbara Ryder, Rick Schlichting, and Andy Wellings.

I would like to express my thanks to all Associate Editors for their commitment and support over the last year. These colleagues have voluntarily given their time and effort, taking responsibility for selecting reviewers, overseeing the reviewing process, and making the final recommendations regarding acceptability. They are instrumental in maintaining the reputation of TSE as a first-class journal. I am very grateful for their support.

Finally, my thanks to all of the superb staff and volunteers at the IEEE who have helped me during the past year. The day-to-day operations of TSE are handled by the following dedicated staff at the IEEE Computer Society Publications Office in Los Alamitos, California: Joyce Arnold, Publications Coordinator; Kathy Santa Maria, Senior Production Editor; Jennifer Carruth, Associate Manager for Peer Review and Publication Administratin; and Alicia Stickley, Senior Manager, Publishing Services.

Jeff Kramer


57 ms
(Ver 3.x)